ROLLING RIGHT ALONG in Postcards 4

  • April 29, 2018, 5:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


2001: Mage at the Tate London.

“Used to’s” don’t matter if you are living in the now. I’ve always walked distances every day. And I should tell you that I loved walking the three miles to work at the Plunge in the ‘80’s. I marched all over London and Paris, and I loved going from the bus and walking a mile to Petco Park when I worked there. I’d always make an effort to walk all around the ball park once a game. Not now.

We rented a scooter when we went to DC. We also rented one for various conventions. We usually rent an electric scooter for my use at Comic Con. Most of the time I don’t need wheels, but for any distance now I do. My spine is crumbling into itself, and while it does that it’s crusing a nerve. One of my legs goes to sleep. It doesn’t happen in the water, but it sure cuts my walking distances down on land.

Yesterday I couldn’t walk too far. Knowing today’s destination I knew I was in trouble. Last time we were at a ball game, I barely made it from our seats to the car. Today we are taking the walker. It’s a nice dark red. It’s wide, and I will take a big backpack with layers of clothes to peel on or off, a camera, and delight in being able to sit when I need a sit.

I’ll think of you all as I cheer on the team that kicked butt yesterday 2 to 12. Amazing.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
- Himself: At work he won Padre’s seats. Was gifted PF Chang’s gift coupons. He still has a job. Meeting tonight.
- Herself: Spent Friday shuffling books. Brought ever more boxes of cookbooks in to shelve, and put the nautical and aviation books on sale.
- Reading: Still amazed that our Presidents were so unhealthy.
- Watching: Last two episodes of NCIS with Abby. What a loss.
- Gratitude’s: That I own a walker and can go to a Padre’s game.


woman in the moon April 29, 2018

When I saw the picture, I tried to put myself there with you - it's somewhere I've always wanted to go. Then I thought about your cap. I wear one sometimes, mainly to keep the sun off my face but I dislike the limits it puts on what I can see.
I'm at the edge of losing my walking ability. I don't know if it's my disease, my age, my lack of commitment to doing it. Probably a combination of things. My dog is getting old too, and sometimes she overdoes before I do.
Have fun at the ball game. Hope SD wins.

Deleted user April 30, 2018

I know the limitations of not being able to walk long distances or stand for long periods of time . If I overdo, I pay for it for hours after . It’s soooo frustrating :-(

Hillbilly Princess April 30, 2018

NorthernSeeker May 01, 2018

You are an inspiration for making the adaptations you need to make to keep active. You live a full life.

Marg May 02, 2018

Well done for adapting to the walker when you need it and seeing it as a positive thing - sometimes not an easy thing to do.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.