GENERATIONS in Postcards 4

  • April 28, 2018, 11:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


2006: Tom and Betty dancing on their visit to San Diego.

Our family on both sides have small generations. My grandfather’s sister died at thirteen. My mother and her brother lived good lives but mother had only one child who had two children. Her brother, Uncle Charlie, had two kids. Both are doing well tho the eldest, Tim, is worrying a lot as his “bride,” Billie, fades. And she is fading though she has kept her sense of humor.

At my age, nearing eighty, I selfishly worry about George and I. I was talking with Millie last night about our friend Claudia Kay. Millie still isn’t sleeping well. I slept through most of the night for the first time since her death last night. Most of Claudia’s friends are all having a similar reaction to her unexpected death. Billie’s long slow fade leaves my cousin Tim wondering about everything.

I wish I could do more than just worry.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Work is slow and filled with pep talks. Margot paid off the last of a loan from us. Hurrah! We cheer her on. Today is a museum day.
  • Herself: I’m still looking for a replacement pair of red ballet flats. I was sorry I wore that last pair out. Now I have worn out my Bjorn red sandals. Quilting this afternoon.
  • Reading: “The Health of the Presidents,” by Bumgarner. And…”Cruise Ships” by Bruce Peter.
  • Watching: Prerecorded “American Experience.”
  • Gratitude’s: That I had Claudia Kay in my life while I did. What a wonderful example of how to live life with verve and panache.

NorthernSeeker April 28, 2018

This is a beautiful photo...was it taken in a dance studio?

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ April 28, 2018

Yes, one near Balboa Park in the spring.

GypsyWynd April 28, 2018

Lovely photo.
My brother and I are the last of our immediate family. Dad was an only child. Mom has one hrother, but neither he, my brother, nor I have children.
I used to live life with Panache.........

Deleted user April 28, 2018

I can attest from personal experience ; worry has never helped me . Not once :-(
I am sorry about your friend .

Marg April 29, 2018

I read one of your bullet points as 'Quitting this afternoon' and thought that the trauma of losing all the red shoes had been just too much! :D

MageB Marg ⋅ April 29, 2018

lol....and I never did get to "Quitting."

Hillbilly Princess April 30, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.