A Nap? A Shower? A Snack? in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 27, 2018, 3:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is raining now but it was not earlier when I went for my first walk of the day on the beach.

This felled tree has been here for a few years; folks around these parts are pretty good about taking care of this shared public land. There is rarely trash and just after dawn on an overcast spring Friday there weren’t any people either.

I walked for close to 50 minutes without seeing a person or a dog. There were western gulls and crows and the sandpipers we call peeps.

Yesterday Most Honorable and I went for a walk in the late afternoon and a bald eagle came by and spooked the rest of the birds.

Kes is on this rather onerous elimination diet for some vital organ discomfort she is experiencing and she is feeling low energy and we are being creative in ways to support her. She can eat popcorn. :)

It is so great to have the time away, even though I miss the cats.

Everybody else is taking a nap right now.

A handsome golden retriever dropped a stick at my feet yesterday for me to throw and I felt honored and then as we were coming back from exploring the improvements done around the brewpub at the end of the street a wild bunny (tawny with black gray and white accents) came right up to me to see if I had food to offer.

There are a bunch of swallows out here and a pair of starlings building a next under the eves of the vacant house next door. They appear to be relatively inexperienced nest builders as the fluff they are collecting keeps blowing away.

I worked on some stabilized twists this morning in my own yoga practice and think I understand the reasoning behind the one the physical therapist gave me to do for my scoliosis.

I held a skein of yellow yarn with red accents in my hands while Kes wound it up into a ball and she was commenting on how my arms would probably get tired but they didn’t and I was saying, you know, yoga…, we use the arms too.

So that is about it, I read the wonderful profile of the novelist Rachel Kushner in this week’s New Yorker and tried to figure out what the heck Kanye West was talking about when he said he shared “dragon energy” with He Who Shall Not Be Named.

I have absolutely nothing else I need to do for the rest of the day.

Maybe I will take a nap too.


Last updated April 27, 2018


woman in the moon April 27, 2018

Sounds lovely. Every single bit of it.

Deleted user April 27, 2018

It does sound lovely ... all I can say is ; Kanye :-(

Lyn April 27, 2018

Love your postcards.

woman in the moon April 27, 2018

I like your interest in buildings/houses.

Marg April 28, 2018

This sounds wonderfully chilled and calming - glad you are getting a much-needed break!

edna million May 03, 2018

Oh, that sounds like a wonderful vacation! I hope re-entry into the more usual world is painless.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.