The new hobby in Juggling with Hedgehogs

  • Feb. 5, 2014, 11:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Actually, I think it's becoming more than a hobby and turning into a passion. I think I might even be getting quite good at it - but that's not really for me to judge.

For my last birthday, my husband, in his wisdom, bought me a DSLR camera. I was scared of it. Even when he suggested getting me one, I was in two minds about it, because, in my words 'they're too technical'. I was worried I wouldn't even use it, or would only use it in manual mode, so it would end up being a bigger, heavier point and shoot, and I already had a perfectly good Panasonic Lumix point and shoot, which gave me great pictures.

Well, he persisted, and explained, patiently, that learning to use a DSLR camera would make photography more than just taking snapshots, that yes, it's technical, but once you've mastered the basics, and you understand how to get a good exposure every time, then the artistic side comes in, and it gets really enjoyable. Yes, yes, I said. OK then. But you have to help me, and go out with me to take pictures, and we'll pursue the hobby together, and then it'll be fun.

No problem, he said, and he bought me the camera. And it arrived, and I was duly scared of it, refused to take it out of auto for ages, and then, he got me to watch a film by a guy called Fro. FroKnowsPhoto.com has a variety of videos that teach people how to use a DSLR camera out of auto mode. I learned about the exposure triangle, and gradually started playing around a bit more. I learned about composition, and worked on that a bit. Then he bought me a Diploma in Photography course - an online one. I threw myself headlong into it and learned so much more - all in a gentle, steady way that involved taking lots of practice pictures. Along the way, I fell into various photography communities, and discovered some amazing photographers, who are all supportive and friendly and helpful, and after I finished the Diploma, I started an Advanced Diploma, which I've just completed the first stage of (I got 80% for my composition assignment).

And now? Well I'm obsessed with buying lenses, not a day goes by that I don't get out with my camera, and - this is the weird bit - I even go out in the wind and the rain. The weather isn't important, what's important is getting 'shot of the day' to put up on the 365project, which I'm also doing. Photography provides me with what I can only describe as walking meditation. I walk miles more now than I ever used to, I SEE things I never used to, every experience is a possible great photograph, and I go to places I wouldn't normally go, JUST to take photographs.

I will post some of my better attempts here, and when I get to know a few people here (some of you know me already) and figure out the privacy settings, I might invite you to scrutinise my flickr page.

I just wish I could find the same passion for playing the piano (which I used to have) as I now have for photography. I've also made a new friend - a lady of a similar age with just the same passion for it that I have. We go out together and find nooks and crannies to take pictures of, and we have a fabulous time. My husband and I have also joined the National Trust so we can go to stately homes and gardens for free - something we'll be doing a lot of once the season opens up.

I will try to post some of my better pics. I've managed to do it once, I'm sure I can again.

Squirrel on 365 Project"


Sapphire February 05, 2014

Thanks for the link ... I tend to use my DSLR in P mode because I don't understand anything else .. Will take a look at that link!

Icklewriter February 05, 2014

Fro is brilliant - very fun and informative. He made it all understandable for me.

pskettios February 05, 2014

That's a really great photo! I am impressed.

Kodae February 05, 2014

I took my first photography class my last semester in grad school. It took me forever to figure out the manual exposurey settings, but after I felt comfortable with that I found myself really enjoying the course.

Only one of the pics loaded for me. Nice shot!

Icklewriter Kodae ⋅ February 13, 2014

Good to see you here too! I'm trying to figure out the html for loading pics, but it's mostly eluding me. I think I might just post the link to my Flickr page and leave it at that!

LeadingTarget February 07, 2014

The lomo adaptors allow you access to a multitude of cheap but fun lenses

Icklewriter LeadingTarget ⋅ February 13, 2014

Ooh! Tell me more!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.