FRIENDS AND MENTORS in Postcards 4

  • April 24, 2018, 1:02 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


2017: Claudia. Photo: Family.

Once long, long ago, I made a phone call just the phone man was there to take out the phone. I was answering an ad for cook and general factotum. The writer, Joan, had cooked two kinds of beans for dinner the previous day and knew that wasn’t working. I came and worked my way through the first four years of college with Joan and her husband Phil’s help. I learned a wondrous amount about life from the two of them. She died a few days ago in her 90’s.

Once just a few years ago I met a lady who had what I wanted and was willing to share it: Inner peace, a sense of humor, focus, caring and balance. I loved her and her passions in life…not that I was willing to go hiking or biking around the bay. Her presence in my life made me a far far better person. She died Sunday on her way into surgery to repair a shattered leg and hip.


Joan Farman at 20.


Hillbilly Princess April 24, 2018

GypsyWynd April 24, 2018

I'm so sorry.

Deleted user April 25, 2018

That is so sad and tragic for you . My heart hurts thinking of you and your loss . What wonderful friends you have had ! It says a lot about you as a person that you kept your friends so long .

gattaca April 26, 2018

This is sad, but you honor her legacy with this. :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.