Sandals and all this sad crazy news in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 24, 2018, 8:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is a very spring version of the vacant lot next door. Every day with it like this is precious as they have permits and are going to build a big apartment complex here.

Over the weekend I had a chance to visit the lovely top floor apartment across the way of my neighbor whom I have chatted with for over 8 years but never formally visited with. We talked cats as she is going on a trip to Ireland in the fall and is looking for in home care of her adorable but nervous and shy girl cat.

Their apartment was so clean and well kept and orderly and organized and I was totally envious. Afterwards she stopped by over here to meet my two and she said that in her next life she wants to come back as my cat. She could tell who is in charge here in my world and it is not me.

Sometimes I think they aren’t actually cats, but furry persistent creative alarm clocks.

Especially as we get closer to a regularly scheduled mealtime. Just a minute ago they were both standing on each side of my laptop, nudging my hands, walking across the keyboard….

I am teaching building energy with the breath this week and boy do I need it. I am tired.

We are two weeks later than normal getting our four-day power down weekend at the Oregon Coast but I am leaving Thursday finally.

With the dental work over over over I am still entertaining the possibility of a proper vacation somewhere doing something interesting and fun.

Maybe some enhanced on site yoga training at a retreat center with healthy food and encounters with nature built in.

It is all very complicated to schedule while I am still working because we don’t have a backup and it is a lot to ask, too much really, to ask St. Joe to take over for a whole week. A couple of days is okay but our work is super draining if it is one person having to respond to everything that comes in. And burning him out and having him leave…oh gosh, he has been my lifeline to sanity during the workday with his reliable competence and commitment to doing a good job. He is so solid. We count on each other each doing our parts without having to say a thing.

I know my talking about leaving makes him uneasy. It would make me uneasy if I were in his position.

Mrs. Sherlock and I got together on Sunday for a hilly almost 6 mile walk with Frida. She is going to this Taoist “meditation” woo woo practice with a few other women now and then that helps with her energy and she did that on Saturday while I had my neighbor encounter and a fun lunch with Most Honorable.

The gardens here are so beautiful, full press tulip out there.

Her husband was depressed and struggling a bit facing his second round of chemo as his platelet count was way down but they did some tests after we walked and it turns out he had recovered better than expected so they are in for a rough but hopeful week. The cure rate on this cancer is high and they are not doing surgery but still this is hard hard hard.

I think I may go over and watch a movie with him after we get back from the beach as he is housebound other than for treatment and sadly a number of friends have fallen away as often happens when one experiences this type of illness. He is grumpus but I like him.

And, you know, he lives with Frida, my most favorite poodle in the whole world. So that is a win win.

We are having an unusual stretch (who isn’t having unusual weather?) of warmth. Yesterday afternoon I wore sandals for the first time this year!

Oh joy, oh gosh even though this was a relatively mild winter, with our current He Who Shall Not Be Named in the White House it has been a long exhausting year.

Blue skies and warmth and blossoms floating through the wind seem better than one could hope for…

Even with this sad crazy news out there.


Last updated April 24, 2018


woman in the moon April 24, 2018

Beautiful photo. First I was so happy you had pocket wilderness close by and then sad because it's going to be gone and replaced by houses. I hate that about life. I'm mourning my lost trees. Stupid of me, but sincere.
Good of you to visit Frieda's master. Hope you watch a good movie. That is a simple but worthwhile thing to do.

Lyn April 24, 2018

Beautiful photo. Your neighbor has figured out the pecking order in your place. 😸

Deleted user April 25, 2018

Lovely little pocket of Spring . Sad it’s going to disappear .

edna million April 25, 2018

What a gorgeous little spot - and how sad that it's going to turn into apartments. That seems to happen way too often. Glad you're getting away to your lovely spot for a few days. And yay for sandals! I've been wearing flats with NO SOCKS, even though it's been cold and rainy again all this week. My feet are cold but I'm so sick of socks that I don't care.

Deleted user April 25, 2018

Oh man, so gorgeous, that little 'wild' plot. Just a taste of how the whole area was at one time.
Too bad you can't feel free to take a week off work, but it's good that SJ has your back as you have his. That kind of support at work is as important as vacations sometimes.

Marg April 28, 2018

Thank you for thinking about Mr. Sherlock's isolation. As one who has recently experienced the same I can't tell you what a difference it makes when someone takes time out of their day to pop in for a natter.
So sorry that lovely piece of ground is going to be ruined with an apartment complex though - such a shame!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.