EARTH DAY in Postcards 4

  • April 21, 2018, 11:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today is Earth Day. Last night G and I watched a two hour long episode of Nova about Climate and Weather. Although I knew much of what the show was about, I didn’t know that trees held on to Carbon Dioxide, nor did I remember that the primary cause of the ocean warming is also Carbon Dioxide. The show was fascinating.

We did our very small part at the Discovery Shop yesterday. Our two day plant sale featured low water use plants. These were all put in containers by two of our caring volunteers. The ingenuity in potting them put a smile on my face.

While shoppers bought plants, I moved books around. Most of the aeronautical books have sold, but few of the boat books. I thought it would be the other way around. And too, the cookbooks now have a bookcase of their own. While I shuffled the volumes around, the plants moved out the door rapidly. That children’s quilt was still there….at $3.00. Of course I bought it. Perhaps Zoe would like it.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Stomach fine. Leg looking vastly better. I’ll get him to take some of the stored cookbook donation to the shop for me. He goes to work today then….
  • Herself: …to a show of an old friends work in Spanish Village. I’ll go up to the Park with him. Bought that quilt. It was priced at $3.00.
  • Reading: I bought the new Box but it is so negative that I’m reading “A Palm for Mrs. Polifax” instead.H
  • Watching: National Geographic’s “One Strange Rock!” Really good.
  • Gratitude’s: That I feel pretty good despite all the lifting yesterday.

Last updated April 22, 2018


gattaca April 21, 2018

I did know about the trees & the ocean.
I have a lot of low-water vegetation here.
I'll watch that NOVA program if I can get it here.

MageB gattaca ⋅ April 21, 2018

It's worth watching even tho you know much of the info.

Deleted user April 21, 2018

The rate the climate is changing is alarming ; just in my Life time . For example this Year its still Winter here ; the trees are just budding and the bulbs that came up froze. It’s very cold and dreary almost every day . Usually by now we are having 60-70 degrees, trees are blooming and people are starting to plant flowers . If I get to leave here, I will be glad. This Year Winter came in October and it’s still here now. We don’t see the birds and animals we used to . Plants outside do not grow as well. There is little sunlight.
When I lived in Florida as a kid the Gulf of Mexico and the Atlantic Ocean were teeming with sealife . Now it’s rare if you find a pretty shell or sight anything living. It’s very sad . Almost makes me glad I don’t have grandchildren. I think we are destroying the planet so quickly that future generations will experience deprivations and an environment we can not imagine. The population rate, which goes unchecked will do that along with the thoughtless destruction of ur natural resources. We refuse to use environmentally sound sources of energy and we trash any place we live. Almost every body of water is now filled with plastic, heavy metals and other toxins. We don’t think about these issues enough or do enough to try to fix them. When Rachel Carson wrote , “ Silent Spring “ 50 years ago ( or more ) she knew this would happen and they dismissed her .

Hillbilly Princess April 22, 2018

NorthernSeeker April 24, 2018

Great idea to have a plant sale. One of our local fundraisers is a perennial plant sale every year.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.