Life and the weather. in Charting new territory

  • Feb. 6, 2014, 7:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It is a rip snorting 4 degrees outside our house this morning, up from -3 at 8AM. Somewhat brisk, wouldn't you say? This is not intended as a weather report. With any luck it will develop it into a story about a long winter at our house.

Bud and I both lived alone for a long time before we began this trip into partnership and marriage. He does things his way. Of course, I do things my way, the right way, mind you. It has taken a bit of compromise on both our parts to make this work, a lot of laughter and on my part, a few foot stomping's to make a point. Sometimes we even pout like children. Bud is far better at pouting than I am. I think, perhaps, I am a bit more volatile. Words flow freely, mostly in thought form, but sometimes i make unkind utterances. I know. Hard to believe, isn't it?

He vacuums. Not often enough to suit me. If I drag out the vacuum to do it myself, you would not believe the rooster dance of possession that happens in this house. I do the dusting. I am in charge of laundry and cooking. He cleans up the kitchen after dinner. I use that phrase loosely. Pots and pans always require soaking which apparently also requires forgetting to finish the job.

Our kitchen cabinets are all built around some guys idea of the requirements for an NBA player. Since my neck is fused Bud has to do anything that requires "tallness". So, he puts away the dishes and anything which requires storing on the giant shelves. I get the drawer up keep. We are each in charge of our own bathroom. We change bed linen together. Poor man always has to listen to my drill "Tighten up that side" or "Is it even on your side?". I suspect that men are quite happy to sleep in the middle of the bed, forgo the niceties of bedspreads and as long as there are coverings, it does not matter if they are straight. lol. Indeed, why not? Actually, these little picky things are of no real importance. I give him trouble but really, it is all in fun.

Come summer, he will be fussing with mowers and such and I will be digging in the flowers. It doesn't matter if the sheets are crooked in summer. The close confines of winter require a sense of humor, the development of patience and a great deal of trust. We've learned when something matters and when it doesn't . We've learned to laugh at ourselves and each other.

I'm really glad that we took each other "as is" when we decided to get married. "As is" has become an integral part of life as we age and everything changes. Sort of like the weather, we get "as is" on a daily basis, changeable, sweet and beautiful in its own way. Lucky us.


Ragdolls February 06, 2014

A perfect fit!!!

Deleted user February 06, 2014

I am also an "as is" person. I wish Winter was done with. I want to see the awesomeness of Spring! I am glad both of you can laugh at each other. Laughter is good for the soul.

blevins Deleted user ⋅ February 06, 2014

I wish I had sense enough when I was younger to realize that all dealings with other humans were on an as is basis. Could have saved myself a ton of heartache.

FishTacoLover February 06, 2014

Indeed!

MageB February 06, 2014

You know I am enjoying your as is. :)

blevins MageB ⋅ February 06, 2014

Your "as is" is pretty spectacular too, Madge.

lulu February 07, 2014

Hi blevins, I'm a blast from the past, come back to share in all the fun of post OD. Good to see you still writing and happily married.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.