The Snake at the Door in Musings

  • April 18, 2018, 11:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a really weird dream last night. I was frantically holding the front door tight and trying to keep a monstrous green snake from pushing its way into the kitchen. The kitchen was set up the way it was when I was a teenager, and I think I was that age as well. I had opened the door only to see part of the snake’s thick green body wrapped around my mother’s bleeding heart bushes that used to be out front. This snake was THICK and long- Biblically huge. I couldn’t take my eyes off what I was seeing for a few seconds, and by the time I diverted my eyes back towards the door, I saw the snake’s head trying to wedge its way thru the crack in the door I had created. I quickly slammed the door shut before it could get in, and held the door as tightly shut as I could with my entire body pressed against it. The last thing I remember in the dream was screaming for my father to help- he was upstairs doing something. And then I awoke.
I used to have nightmares quite frequently- I have on several occasions woke myself up from dreams by screaming in them. Usually as some unknown and unseen person or thing is approaching me as I am backed into a corner. It’s alway just some dark, ominous “presence.” Sometimes those screams become actual screams that other people can here, and sometimes they are just mumbles and muffled moans. Last night, I woke up before I started screaming- other than the yelling for help.
I’m guessing the snake is my fears and anxieties- just like all the terror dreams I’ve had in the past have been. I haven’t had a dream like this in a long time. The prior two nights, I had dreams about people shooting at me- and have been dreaming vividly and wildly lately. I think a bunch of subconscious shit is trying to push its way to the forefront again, or I’m trying to process my fears and insecurities- SOMETHING is trying to make itself known to me.


Last updated April 18, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.