Weirdness in Stuff

  • April 16, 2018, 1:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Super awkward moment over the weekend and I feel like sharing it here to see if people agree or if I’m overreacting. I was at Megan’s place on Saturday afternoon. She was drinking wine, I was drinking coffee. We were talking about random life stuff, nothing serious. The kind of conversation about nothing that two friends would have.

I stretch and complain about a soreness in my shoulder that has bothered me off-and-on for about the last five years. I’ve mentioned it to Megan before, trying to get any suggestions from her because I know she had knowledge both about muscle stretching and massaging. On this day, she suggests that she rub it for me, and I gladly take her up on it.

I pull the back of my shirt up and she starts rubbing my shoulder but it’s clear that my shirt is technically still in the way, and I take if off completely. This isn’t really a big deal, I’m perfectly comfortable being just in my bra. Then without saying anything, she unclasps my bra and slides it off of me.

She keeps rubbing my shoulder like nothing has happened, and if I’m being honest it was probably better for her to have my bra strap out of the way, but I’m suddenly feeling really uncomfortable. To be clear, it’s not because I was topless with her, which is a scenario I find myself in oddly often, but it was because how easily she just took off my bra without saying anything,

After about a minute I told her I was feeling better and kind of quickly put my clothes back on. I’m sure she could tell something was up. I kept debating in my head if I should say something. She’s always blurting out weirdly random out-of-place or TMI things to me, so after a while I just said, “Megan, I don’t want to make a big thing out of this, but it felt really weird when you took my bra off just now.”

Her face went red and I immediately felt bad. I repeated that it wasn’t a huge deal, I just wanted to let her know how I was feeling. I said it would have been more weird if I held it in and didn’t say anything.

She was wiping tears from her eyes at this point and I felt like I should be comforting her, which is not how I was expecting this to play out. She commented that she sometimes “doesn’t think” about what she’s doing, and in this case her only focus was to get the strap out of her way. I acknowledged that I understood that, and I didn’t think she’d done anything wrong, I just wanted her to know how it felt from my perspective.

Within a few minutes things felt normal between us again. But I sometimes feel like weirdness like this is just the cost of being her friend.


Last updated April 16, 2018


SilentEcho April 16, 2018

Her boundaries (for lack of a better word) are just different. If you're uncomfortable it's best to say something for sure.

Perpetually Plump April 16, 2018

I, too, would have felt awkward! I'm glad you opened your mouth though and said something. Boundaries are so important! Megan may be like me and have problems with social norms and people misinterpreting my actions and intentions. I'm highly sensitive about it, so when I fuck it up, it makes me cry a bit and be super embarrassed. Argh.

Triple H Perpetually Plump ⋅ April 23, 2018

The crying thing is weird to me, as I feel like I've now made her cry a few times over what feels like nothing. But thanks, that helps me understand that it might just be how some people respond in these situations.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.