4/11 in --

  • April 12, 2018, 4:13 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know how to rest after having a baby. I keep feeling okay, then doing too much, then getting achey again. I forget that my body just went through a physical trial and I need to give it a break. I’m forcing myself to rest today, but I still am up doing things a lot! My husband is home with me until May, and he’s a huge help. I adore seeing him with the baby, it’s beyond sweet!

I’m getting more sleep than I expected, but I’m still quite tired.

Maeve will be a week old tomorrow. She sleeps, a lot. She’ll sleep in her bassinet for small bits as a time, and we’ve made good progress on that. She poops a ton and her poor butt is red and I can’t get it to go away, even with diaper cream. I’m going to try letting her go diaperless for awhile and try a different diaper cream, but if it doesn’t improve, I’m thinking it could be a yeast infection and I need to take her back to the doctor. Poor kid.

Formula feeding is going well, although I’m still trying to get the hang of it. I was surprised when my milk came in (for some reason I didn’t think it would… heh. You learn something new everyday, I guess). It was pretty terrible for the first day, but it’s gotten less painful each day since and today my boobs are pretty soft. I was hand expressing a bit just to get some relief, so she’s gotten a bit of that in her bottles. I also nursed her for comfort when she first came out. Other than that, she’s been content with the bottle.

She’s definitely my “easiest” child so far. My other kids cried a lot more and they were more needy. It’s so interesting how different each baby is. Out of all of the five kids, they all have such different and unique personalities. I love taking in all of their little quirks.

I’m very much in love with her! I’m sad that she’s my last one, but she’s definitely the icing in the cake in that regard.

Her siblings also adore her, it’s very sweet. Cannon said he wanted to “look at the baby” because he’s “falling in love, and when I fall in love I get excited and fall a lot.” He’s so cute, guys. Like. I can’t.


Last updated April 12, 2018


juliuslargo April 12, 2018

Congrats!

Small Town Girl April 13, 2018

Awww! Cannon! What a sweetie! He is going to be a great big brother!!
A week old already!? Crazy!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.