Accountability in Everyday Ramblings

  • April 8, 2018, 6:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The angle of this shot yesterday morning before the storm is a little odd but I was so excited to see the first iris in bloom as I was out running some quick errands after clocking out from work I had to stop and take a picture.

The bricks, these bricks have meaning to me, as they are part of the original wall of the blacksmith’s shop that was next to the drayage stable that the building I live in was built over. When it is very quiet sometimes I think I can feel the snorting of those hard working horses as they wake into the spring morning; a world of rich scents and sounds across time.

We got a lot of rain and it is still raining. Our snow pack needs it so instead of walking together Mrs. Sherlock and me (or I if you want to be more formal) will meet (dripping) at church this morning.

And we did. I was all geared up but man was it wet walking over. I shed water as I ungeared up in the cement floor of the balcony where we sit.

It is just misting now a few hours later and it is supposed to get up to 71(F) (21C) tomorrow! Be still my heart, I can wear cropped yoga pants to class.

I’ve been teaching a lot of structural stuff about the skeleton and spine in class lately but this week I am going to start a series on the nervous system and how to work with the tools available through yoga to change physiology.

Part of the focus will be on digestive issues. Something I am dealing with on a mild scale with bloating and all that other fun stuff.

I am beginning to think what I am sensitive to in the foods I eat is not gluten but this thing called Fructans. It is a carbohydrate found in wheat and in some vegetables, such as onions, garlic, broccoli, cabbage and asparagus. It is interesting that I tend to avoid most of the foods on the list naturally. I do eat broccoli but it is not my first choice.

Something about the combo of Fructans and artificial sweeteners appears to be having a not so happy effect on my micro biome.

And my ability to lose weight.

Still I have decided to very modestly add just a little bit of healthy whole wheat back in to my diet and see how I do with that. Things that help me feel full are good things.

Every Saturday morning I check in with Kes and Mrs. Sherlock by text. We share our weights with each other. That is the extent of our diet planning. Accountability.

Both of them are losing and I am so happy as even a couple of pounds off can make them feel better. Mrs. Sherlock has lost 5 lbs. since we started 4 weeks ago and says she can feel the difference.

She has become acutely aware of the nutritional value of things as her husband is struggling with major over the top needing additional fluid support digestive issues with his chemo and radiation regimes he is undergoing. She said for the first time with all he is dealing with she thought she might lose him this last week.

It is going to be hard going now as the treatment honeymoon period is very much over. He is fatigued and his world is pretty small. They had a brand new toilet installed in their rambling older house (that is worth a fortune because of the location) and it was a comfort and great joy.

These things matter.

One of the managers on the management team that I work for asked me this last Monday to send him copies of every email I send and all that I receive. Eek. Saint Joe is doing the same. They want to look at process improvements. It means looking at things through a different lens and I notice they are favoring the cheapest options available.

I am not afraid for my job but I am afraid for some of the things that are good about my job oh say the relationships with our customers, both internal and external. These managers do not care about those relationships.

26 months, 26 months until I retire. I can do this. I can.


Last updated April 08, 2018


Lyn April 08, 2018

You can indeed do it with one brain tied behind your back even.

Beautiful Iris!

Good thoughts for Mrs. Sherlock and her husband.

woman in the moon April 08, 2018

Yup, hope you can hang on for the 26 months. There will be good times, I'm sure, and then you will be free. That sound so good.

Marg April 14, 2018

I love that story about the wall! Poor Mr. Sherlock - that sounds like a real trial. As does your work - I hope the next 2 years are not too arduous for you!

Deleted user April 17, 2018

26 months is not long at all !

edna million April 17, 2018

26 months! That will fly by - how exciting! And I love that brick wall and the story behind it. AND the beautiful iris-

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.