Happy birthday, Maeve! in Baby Stuff, Part 3

  • April 6, 2018, 9:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Maeve was born yesterday (April 5) at 9:12am! She was 7 pounds, 5 ounces (only one ounce bigger than her brother!), 20.5” long. I was in labor for about 13 hours total. Here’s the story:

It was a pretty productive Wednesday. I got a few things done, including a paper that was due Thursday. I wanted to get groceries and get a few more baby things, but I told myself I’d do that Thursday while the kids were at school. It turns out I wouldn’t get to do them after all! After I got my two older kids dinner, bathed, and in bed I started getting contractions (around 8pm – kids went to bed at 7pm as usual). I got the first one and didn’t think much of it, since I had been getting contractions randomly for about three weeks (and there was one time I was able to time them for three hours, but they ended after awhile). After about an hour, I had been getting them about 15 minutes apart. The pain was manageable. We turned on some shows (Lost, and Babylon 5) and continued to time them.

We were having a pretty good evening hoping something was starting to happen! We even managed to have sex and afterwards a good bit of my mucous plug came out. I made sure to drink plenty of water and I ate some snacks. The contractions were getting more intense, and after about an hour were 7 to 8 minutes apart. Then an hour after that, they were about four to five minutes apart and were VERY painful. I felt like I couldn’t tolerate the pain well and I decided we should go to the hospital. My older kids’ dad picked them up around midnight (fortunately he lives about seven minutes away), and James and I left.

I got to triage and was checked… I was only 3 cm dilated. I was pretty disappointed because I really, really wanted an epidural. I was in a ton of pain. I could feel it in my back and my lower pelvis, which was different from when the pain was completely manageable during labor with Lorelei. I was afraid I was going to get sent home, but after an hour I was dilated to a 4 and my doctor said to check me in. I was very relieved! I was given a room in labor & delivery and was promptly given an epidural. I was relaxed and in a great mood. At this point it was between 3:00 and 4:00am.

Side note: when you get an epidural they have to place a catheter in you to get the urine out of your bladder. I had so much urine in mine that the nurse almost needed another container for all of it. Two hours later I filled up another one! I was peeing like every five minutes during labor too before that. I guess I have really efficient kidneys? That was pretty amusing.

Anyway, around 7:45am the doctor came in and checked me again and I was at a 6 with paper-thin cervix. My water still hadn’t broken on its own, so he broke it for me. My nurse checked me shortly after that and I was at a 7. Another doctor came in (there were two of them on call) to introduce herself. My nurse told me that if I started feeling pressure, I should use the call button to alert her. Probably not even a minute after she left the room I felt pressure but I was unsure because I had an epidural and was pretty numb. I wanted to err on the safe side, so I called her back in. She took one look at me and said “I don’t even have to check you, there’s the head!” She ran to get the doctor and as I was sitting up to get into a pushing position, the baby came out! I didn’t have to push at all and the whole event took about one minute!

It was definitely a positive birth experience. I don’t have any tearing, or much swelling at all. I checked things out downstairs and I don’t look or feel like I’ve had a baby in the past day. I’m bleeding (although not heavily, fortunately) with some pretty gnarly cramping sometimes, but other than that, I feel pretty good. I have probably gotten about five hours of sleep in the past three days, but I’m managing pretty well.

Maeve is absolutely beautiful and I completely adore her. James is the best co-parent anyone could ask her. He’s so loving and supportive and it’s so sweet to see him take care of Maeve. He sings to her and he just adores her. So darling! All of the kids met their new sister and it was very sweet. I love my big family. <3 We’ve also had quite a few visitors, which I’m thankful for, since everyone is being so supportive.

I’m having a good time, I just wish I could sleep. :)


Last updated April 06, 2018


Deleted user April 07, 2018

Congrats! I love her squishy faces 😍😍

TrippyNina April 07, 2018

Congratulations!

❤️vee April 08, 2018

congratulations!!

Small Town Girl April 08, 2018

Congratulations!! Glad it went smoothly! How was she compared to Cannon and Lorelei? Were they easy too?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.