Five days, unplugged. in A small but passable life.

  • April 6, 2018, 3:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Last Sunday the internet went down. No internet on any device. It’s a common occurrence and usually resolves itself in a day or two. Not this time. So yesterday I used the smartphone to find an 800 number for Dish. And then another number. No luck with either one. I went in the house to look in the file cabinet for something with “Dish” on it. No luck, but I did find, way in the back, a bag of Verizon stuff from Mom’s first smartphone purchase. Okay, here is a fancy set of earbuds with a microphone and a Mophie 2500 mAh external battery. I can use both. Mom finally found an 800 number with a four digit pin number in one of her little address books. Nice. I called and finally got a real human on the phone. Don or Dan, I think. We diagnosed. Unplug the router for ten seconds. Unplug the wifi thingy for ten seconds. Check the laptop. Well hell, there’s an internet connection! I thanked him and wished him a fine day.

By then it was time for Mom’s eye appointment, at 11:30am. She had called Nationwide in their new storefront in the strip mall next to the new Fry’s. For some reason she said the gal had sent her to another store east of here. We drove out there. No Nationwide there. I called the number Mom had. It was a call center and the human had no clue. We drove back west eight miles to the new storefront location. After some checking around the gal found that the appointment was at another Nationwide even further west. Whatever. It was now past her appointment time so we made another appointment for 10am Saturday. When we got home there was a message on the answering machine reminding her of her appointment.

That was far from the first time things have gotten totally fuckered up. I’m just the driver. I’m not blaming anyone, just saying, I’m only the driver.

The weather has settled into down into perfection. The days highs are in the low nineties and the nights lows are in the high sixties. At midnight I turn the A/C off and open the window. This morning at 8am it was 71 degrees. When the thermometer in here gets to 80 degrees, about one or two in the afternoon, I shut the window and turn on the A/C. The forecast this morning showed the same exact weather for the next ten days.

(11:50am right now and the thermometer here on my table says 77.7 degrees.)

It took me all last evening to catch up on my youtube subscriptions and all this morning to catch up with my bookmarks on PB.

I’ve received a third email from Bruce inviting me back to OD. Sorry dude, not at this point in time.

I have yet to book the first four or five nights lodging for the road trip. I really should do that.

There are a lot of things I should do.


Gilraent April 06, 2018

Deleted user April 11, 2018

Looks like you are getting them done !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.