April 5, 2018 in Journal 1

  • April 5, 2018, 5:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It has certainly been a long time since I’ve written anything, but I’m getting back on it.
I’m going to try this new thing called “self-care”, and I heard that writing in a journal may be beneficial to my -self.
I’m going to stop putting off my responsibilities and finish the things that I start. I am going to try to produce things that I’m proud of and make decisions that make me happy, even if it disappoints others. Specifically, I am going to take a leave of absence from school.
I’ve been cripplingly depressed for 14 months now and my grades have been plummeting. I feel like this intangible stress has been making me insane, and I’m ready to admit that I’m not strong enough to overcome it alone. I need time, patience, and help from my friends and family. Suffering is not “cool” and it is not always a “brave” thing to endure. Most of the time it is needless and stupid– and, I’m done wasting my time being stupid.
I want, for once in my life, to like myself– and not like myself by the validation of others, like parents and teachers, but absolutely and wholeheartedly by myself for who I am.
I’m dropping my childhood dreams on their head, because, when I dreamed them, I was a child. I was naive and dumb. I thought the only way to be successful was by being better than others– not in a cruel way, though. I just didn’t understand the root of happiness and I went down a path leading me further away from it.
Now, it is time to stop moving forward along this wonky path with that feeble hope of a potential light at the end of the endless tunnel. It is time to turn around and admit I made a mistake a long time ago. Life is long and there is no shame in getting somewhere a bit late. It’s a triumph to have made it at all– let it be at 20, 40, or 70.
So, while most of the kids I went to school with will be graduating from college in a year, becoming college graduates, I will be on my own equally-satisfying path.

Thank you for not doing that thing on March 4th. Thank you for thinking of me.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.