New Beginnings in Musings

  • April 5, 2018, 12:19 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve journaled for the past few years on a pretty consistent basis- I hit the wall with that over the course of the past year, and I think my mental health has suffered as a result. I’m excited to try this new venue as an outlet for my thoughts and feelings. I hope to be real and true and honest. I have a tendency to hide behind my bullshit with complex sentences and an overflowing fountain of word-streams ( which I’m doing right now)- I need to take a cue from Hemingway and type like I’m a boxer. Quick, sharp jabs. Get in and get out. Blunt-force trauma, not death by a million paper cuts.
My thoughts are clearer when I type. I’ve always read that the true self is revealed thru actual writing- that somehow the pen connects to the soul deeper than any keyboard can. I don’t find that to be true. I love the muted clickety-clack sound of the keys as I pour out my thoughts. I can’t do this on an iPad or phone. I need a keyboard. I’d use an actual typewriter if that would work electronically.
I am an analog man in a digital world. I feel more and more lost in modernity. My goal is for this new journal to be a roadmap back into life. As I type, I hope I begin to see roadsigns toward a better destination. Less filter and analysis and more truth and soul. Here’s to new beginnings..


Last updated April 05, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.