Am I Wrong? in I Need A New Job

  • April 4, 2018, 9:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

When I became manager a few things changed. One of those things is that I actually post a shift calendar. I told all the employees that when they need to switch shifts (one here and there), or they just get someone to cover for them, they don’t need to approve everything through me provided it doesn’t do anything funny like put others into over time. What I did was I asked that they make sure to record it on the shift calendar for future reference.
On top of that I told them that if they needed extended time off, that is what needs to come through me in the form of a vacation time off request: I need to approve anything over 2 days.

I came into work on Monday and noticed a ‘note’ left for me from one of the girls simply stating that she’ll be away May 12-21st. During that time she’ll only be missing 3 shifts and already asked one of the other girls to cover two of them.

So when I saw her the next day, I told her it was unacceptable. I don’t expect her to know ahead of time all the time off that other people had asked for, but for the dates she just told me she would be away they were already booked off by another person. You cannot just assume you can have 10 days off. Her response was (of course) “I only asked for 3 days off”, to which I responded that she is away for 10 days which means she is unavailable to the company for those days, therefore it needs to be approved. Especially since if one person is away, there is a good chance she would be scheduled to cover shifts.

I informed her that I am able to schedule her time off (some days I don’t know how), but in future if she does this again it is a hard no.

So I really don’t feel like I’m in the wrong here, but there is something nagging me about it.


Brodie 💗 April 04, 2018

I guess it would depend if it’s a set schedule or not. I only work three days a week and if I take off three days then I’m actually off for 12 and my boss wouldn’t expect me to cover shifts on my days off. I see it both ways, people can’t just assume they have the time off approved.

raynedrop Brodie 💗 ⋅ April 12, 2018

I get what you're saying.
In my office though it would be unrealistic to think you'd never be asked to cover a shift. Everybody here knows that. Or at least I thought they did -_-

Gilraent April 04, 2018

Every place is different with their policies. But like Brodie said, you can't just assume you're going to get approved.

raynedrop Gilraent ⋅ April 12, 2018

I didn't think so either
<3

I need tea. April 05, 2018

Nope. You are right. We say to staff we can refuse you time off if three other people have booked time off and they need to get it approved rather than just assuming (we have a large team managers often step in if needed)

raynedrop I need tea. ⋅ April 12, 2018

I mean, our employment standards (IE: government rules) states that you get X amount of vacation time a year, but you still have to request it. Time off is never a guarantee.

lessoff April 05, 2018

she should have asked for permission instead of telling you.

what does the company you work for do?

I work in AP with 29 others....so honestly having a bunch of people off doesn't really hurt our numbers that much.

raynedrop lessoff ⋅ April 12, 2018

We are a very small company (though the amount of work we do in office is insane), and the nature of our business dictates (essentially) that only one person is actually in the office and working at any given time (outside of training). This means that the way our scheduling works, is that if one person is out sick/books time off, optimally you can't have another person off at the same time.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.