Wicked Queer in Stuff

  • April 2, 2018, 7:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We spent much of our free time this last week at the LGBTQ Film Festival. Somebody in my family and/or Megan was probably at just about every film. I lost count but I know I went to at least five films, and I think the kids, Olsen in particular, saw many more than that. She was volunteering for the festival, which of course had her present for a lot of films she might not have otherwise attended.

We’ve always been a family that enjoys watching movies, and this festival seems more interesting to us these days than the other film festivals in the city.

I want to say some of the trans films (which is mostly what I watched) helped me with a little perspective with everything going on with Mercer. I watched one films with Harrison that was about the whole idea of restrooms for “all genders” and when we walked out she said to me, “That film was exactly why I don’t like to use non-inclusive restrooms.”

When she first started being vigilant about that subject, I kind of laughed it off, but now I see it from a different perspective and understand it better. I might think more about which restroom I’m using in the future.


Last updated April 03, 2018


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.