Easter Day 2018 in Adventures in paradise

  • April 1, 2018, 10:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So my parents place is as boring as usual. I mean, nothing ever changes out in the country. I’m not sure it’s meant to? It’s the same routine each time I’m out there, although this time I needed a lift from my sister and bro-in-law to make it out there, as the Greyhound bus only goes as far as Toowoomba. There is one that goes out to Roma too but that’s the wrong direction to Pittsworth. Luckily, she was there right on time to pick me up. I had to use the bathroom when I arrived so I was worried she might have seen the bus leave and not see me get off of it, as I didn’t see her when I first arrived, but upon leaving the bathroom and walking out of the terminal to the street, I saw her long blonde hair. They were in the big car!
My sister recently bought this snazzy zip-around BMW convertible, so I thought there might be a chance we’d be going out in that, but I guess it’s more of a city-car. I mean, you want people to see it, not just the cows.
And I sure saw a lot of those on the way out there. I even saw llamas!
Who the hell is breeding llama’s out on the Darling Downs? That guy, apparently.

My sister is pretty quiet, but her husband is a good conversationalist, so the drive out wasn’t too bad. We didn’t think anyone was home when we arrived, as mum had told my sister to just go in the house via the laundry door. My bro-in-law was like, “So this is how things work in the country?”
I said, “Yeah, in Millmerran, we don’t even lock our cars.”
Ahh, country life. Where everyone knows each other’s business.
In the city, people just ignore you LOL.

But everyone was home, just in the lounge. It’s a big house with heaps of bedrooms even though mum and dad are usually the only ones there. My older brother was there, my grandmother (who informed me she turns 90 next year!) and obviously mum and dad and the family I’d arrived with.
Gave my mum a kiss and she threw a chocolate bunny at me. Just what I need, carbs.
And we had a lot of those. Mum had gotten us to stop in at KFC on the way through, as she usually does. There’s certainly no KFC in Pittsworth. So we sat in the drive-thru there for a while, as everyone had the same idea my mother did. The guy serving behind the window was a complete queen, arms flailing everywhere. I love how none of my family know how to react to gay people. My bro-in-law was like, ‘Well, he seemed happy!”

Anyway, family - boring as usual. Gossiping about people, as usual. Filling us all in on these people I don’t know in most cases, or barely knew when I was a kid.
The whole me-being-gay thing is still never brought up (and therefore anything about my life), but it’s almost like a shift in the vibe since marriage equality finally passed here last year. I dunno, it’s probably just me.
I asked mum how her knees were (she’s had trouble with them and surgery the last few years) and she’s meant to book in for more surgery, but she went and visited a friend who’d had a carpel-tunnel operation and she’d never recovered from it and has suffered immensely since (blood-clot, stroke, all that jazz…) and it’s really scared mum off wanting to get the surgery. Apparently the doctor has told her to contact him when she can’t stand it anymore and he’ll book her in.
I tried to calm her down (she had tears in her eyes telling the story) and ask if her friend had looked into suing the doctor, but was shut down with “You can’t sue a doctor!” and I replied with, “What about Jayant Patel (sp?)? He left INSTRUMENTS inside of people!” And he sure as hell got dragged before the courts. Terrible to hear about mum’s friend though. All that from a carpel tunnel operation, jeeezush.

It turns out my sister and bro-in-law will be in Italy a WEEK or two after I am! Pretty much the same route also. That’s crazy haha. My bro-in-law was reading out the dates they are in Milan and they’re the dates that I will probably have moved onto London.

Ma (my grandma) still looks healthy as anything for 89. We reckon she’ll see 100. I’d be surprised if we don’t. I’m glad Brenden (my older bro) was there as he’s always good for a laugh. His arms are gigantic. You can tell he gyms every day. Mum was trying to get me to stay the night and go back with Brenden the next day (we live in the same city but barely see each other) but I’d already made plans to see Kristy in Toowoomba.

So my bro in law and sister left around 3:30pm so we were probably out there for around 3 hours. They never stay long, and asked if I needed a lift back to Toowoomba. I definitely did! I saw them getting ready to leave and I had to rush for my shoes. Don’t leave without me!
We went back to their place and sat down for a bit and my bro in law kindly offered to drive me to Kristy’s place… IN MY SISTER’S NEW CAR! :O
I asked my sister if she was coming, but she goes, “Only two seats” - ohh true. Sports car, silly me.
So I jump in. It was three times lower to the ground than the bigger was was. The bigger car I could just step out of onto the ground. Not this thing HA.
Of course he presses a heap of buttons when we get in, and the roof retracts, the windows go down, the rearview mirrors slide out, all sorts of techy stuff. It was pretty exciting. i have no idea how much my sister paid for it, but they got it second-hand, which still would have been a fortune. You couldn’t tell.

I went to the wrong house to start with. I gave my bro in law a hug goodbye and thanked him for the lift. I’m glad the people who’s house I knocked on weren’t home, cos that would’ve been embarrassing haha. I texted Kristy and it turns out she was in the house just up the street.
Nice area! Well, except for the apparent brown snakes sliding around the place in the construction site next door :O
She has a new dog, Kenzie, and she’s the most energetic little thing I’ve ever seen. She didn’t like me when I first arrived, the perfect guard dog, and barked the house down as I was let inside. She settled down after a while and eventually I was petting her, but she spent most of the time jumping all over everyone and running around like a skitso. And lick! Holy hell she licked so much. Then Kristy’s son kindly told me that she eats her own shit, so I’m like, “Greeeeeeeat!” - I made sure to wash my hands and face after that hahaha.
If you’re on my Snapchat, I Snapped a video of Kenzie singing along to Andre Reiu lol.
It was great to see Kristy, even though it was only for a bit less than an hour all up. I don’t see her often enough! She kindly offered me a lift back to the bus station where I gave me a cuddle goodbye.

I slept pretty much the whole ride home, waking up periodically to uncrank my neck lol. Then I got lost in the Roma Street Parklands trying to get home because it was so dark in there. All good, home now. A pretty big day all up I guess, when I think about it.


Last updated April 01, 2018


Dirty Numb Angelboy April 01, 2018

Hahahaha! You want people to see it, not just the cows. Hey now, I take mine it to see the cows. Best roads to speed on. You'll either go off the road or hit a cow.

Deleted user April 02, 2018

Sounds like a good day with family & friends:)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.