Off again, semi-off again, maybe on again.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 28, 2018, 8:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

That’s the way it goes folks. You never can be sure of what life offers.

If this place can keep going, I will be very happy. I like it here.

If it falls apart, I guess I can handle that too.

I did something today that I hadn’t done since the middle of June. I went to 750words and wrote 750 plus a few words. I was curious if they would still let me in. Turned out they remembered me and I had fortunately used the password that I can remember.

Turns out in a way writing for no purpose, no editor, no prospective reader, is a freeing enterprise. You just write what you want. Use dirty words. Tell family secrets. More importantly tell your own secrets. Sometimes it’s hard to get on a roll and keep moving the fingers on the keys. Sometimes you can’t type fast enough.

I went back and read some old stuff. It does not have an easy calendar for finding old entries but it does have a search function. You can type in ‘harness’ or ‘banana’ or ‘church’, and it pulls up all entries with those words. It can take you randomly back into the past. I didn’t find anything every striking. I found a few things I wouldn’t read out loud. I found places and times I would not go back to. I found good things too.

Anyway. I see people have been exploring other journal sites. Most were considering OD their failsafe. Some were reluctant. Those who wanted to be there are there already. Trying to play the two-timing game of what goes here and what goes there. If this place stays open, and I sincerely hope it does, then that game will go on.

On-line journaling is not as hot a thing as it once was. To be honest a lot of us aren’t as hot as we once were - even once. We have less to say. We have less curiosity about each other. We could just give this up - at least for a while - and then maybe we would come back. And maybe wouldn’t.

I remember thinking early on that maybe I could have a blog - a freestanding place of my own to write. I never thought I could capture very many readers on my own. Maybe I could have. It would have been a different process. I set one up early in the OD days but I found I am not good at cross-posting. Even if it’s practical to have your words in more than one place to keep them safe, I found I just didn’t want to. A blog would have been public and while I was used to writing in public and I would have bought an ad in the local paper directing readers to my on line persona, I would have been constrained in what I wrote. It might have worked. It might have failed too, sinking all my words, thoughts, my self with it. Life and the internet have no guarantees.

I wrote more of a public diary in OD. I wanted a lot of readers. I gave my name and address to outsiders, friends, strangers, relatives - and let them read. I didn’t do that here. In fact even members only got to be too big a risk and I wrote more than a few friends only entries. And of course I stayed away for various lengths of time. I did not feel obligated to write. I did not have a deadline. I didn’t have an audience. I wrapped my ego in a paper napkin and stuffed it in the back of a cupboard.

This is all about me. It always is. My goal has always been to write something interesting that someone else would like to read. I think I used to be better at it. I tried harder. I illustrated my words with pictures that I thought were interesting. That was then. Now I can’t take pictures. I can’t go through the rigamarole it takes to do it, to remember it. Even if I miss my pictures too.

My life has changed. I am not who I used to be. I care and I don’t care.

I apologize.


NorthernSeeker March 28, 2018

You are always writing things people want to read...but there is no point in me saying that. The only thing that is important is if you feel that yourself.

Deleted user NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 29, 2018

Yes I agree... always interesting.

Marg March 29, 2018

What are you apologising for? You are you and that's as it should be😊

woman in the moon Marg ⋅ March 29, 2018

Thanks. You are right. And now I feel like I should be apologizing for apologizing. Stop it!!!! As Bob Newhart (U.S. comedian) said in an outstanding clip that's on YouTube. He was a counselor and a woman came to him with a complaint and he just told her to Stop it!!!!, firmly, abruptly and forcefully. It was funny and it had an element of truth in it.

Marg woman in the moon ⋅ March 29, 2018

Haha!

Florentine March 29, 2018

We like all of the versions of you that you’re willing to share with us. And that’s the beautiful thing about writing and time and experience—none of it is stagnant. We get to feel out our voice as we evolve. It changes as we do.

Just Annie March 29, 2018

I'm here until Prosebox isn't and then I'll move back to OD as Just Annie. But the writing will be different. I just don't want to lose contact with the friends I've made here.

And I always enjoy reading what you write. I find that you are a thoughtful, interesting person.

TruNorth March 29, 2018

Presently struggling to keep up with two diary sites. I don't want to duplicate entries because I don't like seeing duplicate entries myself (just one of my idiosyncrasies). I am very appreciative of both diary master's efforts over the years to provide these on line diary sites.

woman in the moon TruNorth ⋅ March 29, 2018

I agree totally. Like being in love with two men.

thesunnyabyss March 29, 2018

I like this place too, but whatever happens happens,

no apologies needed, have a great day!!!

Neogy Titwhistle March 29, 2018

There's no place like home? I'll always wonder about all those folks I used to read (on OD) but didn't make it here for one reason or other. I also miss those "legacy" diaries, those words of now deceased people that remained on the site after they died. The internet makes life strange?

Serin April 03, 2018

My problem is that of late, I find myself silenced. I don't know why but it's hard to leave notes, and some times I want to just click to leave my name. On the other hand, there's reason the people I enjoy are marked as favourites; I welcome the glimpses through their eyes, in words, in pictures, whatever. I like to see your corner of the world and float along with you on a walk, or just sit and keep you company while you read.

Purple Dawn April 04, 2018

I'd miss your writing terribly. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.