The diary migration, yet again in Adventures in paradise

  • March 27, 2018, 5:05 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve exported all my books on here to text files, so that’s something.
I now have two lots of exports - 2004-2013 from OD and from 2013-2018 from here LOL.
We don’t have much luck, do we?

So after I did that, I did a bit of research on other diary sites. I looked at the usual links like “The 7 Best Personal Diary Websites” and such, and went through what they suggested. There were a few I wasn’t such a big fan of, such as diary.com and livejournal.com. I just wasn’t a big fan of the layouts. A bit too cluttered for me. I prefer the simplistic layouts that both OD and Prosebox had/have. I also like a customized background option, friends-only/private options and export features.
For now, I’ve narrowed down my options to three.

From what I can gather, a few of the members here are going BACK to OD. I’m sorry, but when I think of that, I picture Bruce rubbing his grubby hands together, waiting for all the payments to come through (because you HAVE to pay there now) and then pulling the plug. Again.
If you go back to OD, all the luck to you. It was a brilliant site in it’s time, but for me, it’s had it’s time. ‘Simple Mind’ was honest about what’s happened here. ‘The DiaryMaster’ wasn’t. And I won’t hand over my money.

So, for me, that means moving onto new territory. Turning a new leaf, so to speak. It’s not the first time I’ve had to do this haha.
I’m still keeping an ear out for where friends I read on here might be taking their diaries (ie - the popular vote).
It’s so much easier if we are all on the same site that updates with bookmarks and such, but I know from the ‘OD Migration’ that quite a few of the people I read there split off into different sites and such and I lost contact with them. That was sad.
I expect this won’t be much different. I will lose touch with some of you, but hopefully not all of you.

So anyway, upon my initial research, these are the three sites that I’m thinking of going to, in no particular order.

1 - www.journalate.com

Free, available everywhere, simple and easy to use, calendar, share from social media (premium option), very basic editing toolbar, upload images and videos from Youtube, staff can’t see private entries.

2 - penzu.com

Free, available everywhere, it has 2 million users. Customizable journal types, fonts and colours, double-password protection AND encryption, entries private by default, smart journal search function, has a mobile app.

3 - monkkee.com

Free, available everywhere, secured and encrypted, editor, automatic saving of entries, images, calendar, export feature, automatic logout in case of inactivity, system admins can’t read your data, no advertising or membership fees (they rely on donations).

They’re the kinda appealing ones right now, but obvs I’m gonna have to take some time to think about where the heck to write.


Dirty Numb Angelboy March 27, 2018

Those all suck. Goodnight journal looked better than those dumps. I'm not. Going back to OD. Nope!

The real me March 27, 2018

I was lucky and my lifetime membership is still good so I went back to OD.

KissOfLife! The real me ⋅ March 27, 2018

Oh very lucky in that case :)

The real me March 27, 2018

I was lucky and my lifetime membership is still good so I went back to OD.

The real me March 27, 2018

I was lucky and my lifetime membership is still good so I went back to OD.

Wranglingal March 27, 2018

I was looking at Penzu since it does have a mobile app and looks like it is safe there but I do have OD too and do not like the idea of having to pay too. SO I will keep on searching!! SO sad, but Good Luck!!

-.Just.Keep.Swimming.- March 28, 2018

I don;t see where Penzu offers any kind of "community"... I like the feel of that site the best, but it seems to be just a digital paper diary, if you know what I mean...

aussie_powers March 29, 2018

Not sure what I’ll do mate. Re-opened OD

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.