Not so old.... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 24, 2018, 12:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Kids brought me a fresh stack of gently aged New Yorkers and Rolling Stones. Can’t beat slightly out of date magazines - like men with three to five day beards. More texture, less immediacy. You can just sit back and enjoy them.


NorthernSeeker March 24, 2018

I like reading older magazines, too. I take them out of the library. There is always the benefit of reading an article somebody wrote without the benefit of what I know happened in different situations. It adds a new dimension/layer to the experience. I'll have a whole bunch of Vanity Fairs to check out when we go north.

Deleted user March 24, 2018

Sometimes I like them and sometimes I do not want to read dated material
When there is so much current stuff I don’t get to. I think magazines are becoming a thing of the past :-( These days they are mostly full of advertising so I rarely buy them . They also are expensive , I would rather buy a book !

Deleted user March 24, 2018

I do like to cut them up for collages, not that I am doing things like that these days :-( .

ODSago Deleted user ⋅ March 24, 2018

Good for that...I tore the pictures out for more tension in the collages I used to make. Bought magazines that had pictures I'd like for doing collages, not for the printed material. LOL.

Deleted user ODSago ⋅ March 24, 2018

Yes, I always check out the art magazines for their pictures :-)

thesunnyabyss March 24, 2018

this is such an awesome analogy, and so very true,

enjoy your magazines!!! and stubbly men, lol

ODSago March 24, 2018

I used to go the library when I was in grad school and had hours between classes. I'd sit on the floor in the basement stacks and read the old magazines. Thanks for bringing back those fleeting hours of private time for the busy mother of three children that I was back then.

Neogy Titwhistle March 24, 2018

I always liked a stack of old Nat Geos sitting around. You could look at the spine to see what was inside.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.