A Challenge in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • March 20, 2018, 6:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t wish to sound cruel or insensitive but last night, possibly for the first time ever, I began to understand exactly how mentally unbalanced Wife is.
Yesterday was her first day at the new job. Last night after work, she sobbed for the better part of 5 hours. Straight. One long anxiety-ridden panic attack. And I’m not a good enough person to be able to help out or be supportive for the full 5 hours. I certainly tried. But as part of this life-demolishing panic attack, we also heard some of “the classic” bits.
(1) The job isn’t bad, but Wife is so terrified because it is new.
(2) She doesn’t want to be this way.
(3) I need to get my job stuff sorted immediately, so she can quit.
(4) She was refusing to return for her second day.
(5) She couldn’t eat anything because her stomach was so messed up
(6) She was convinced that there was no way she would get any sleep
And then repeat all of that. For five hours.

After trying everything, I decided to try the “oaf” approach and see if sexual advances would at least distract her. It inspired the following from her: “No. I know we haven’t had sex for a while but the way I feel, we won’t be having sex for a lot longer.” In other words… Wife terror of new putting us back in Omaha territory.

I am and will try to remain a supportive and caring husband. But it is really tough here. She was constantly miserable working at Wal Mart. She accepted a job in the field that she says she wants to work in. And after one day, a day in which she says people were nice and the job seems very do-able, she is so emotionally broken that she cries for 5 hours and staunchly refuses to return. Honestly, I never realized that she was this bad, I know I encouraged her to seek counseling for most of our marriage but… had I known, I would have been far more insistent. She does have a therapist right now and I’m hoping that can help a bit. Because… sure, we can survive if both of us are looking for work for a time… but this isn’t about that. I don’t want her or need her to do this job because the family needs money. I want her and need her to do this job for her. If she runs away from this because it is difficult, that will be a big sign. She blamed Wal Mart for everything for so long. If, in her first opportunity to do something else, she quits this quickly? We’ll know Wal Mart was a scapegoat, a red herring, a ruse. We’ll know that Wal Mart was never the problem. And we’ll have to decide if the real problem can be fixed and/or if it is worthwhile to try.


Deleted user March 20, 2018

Ugh, man. This is so tough, and I can definitely sympathize with the both of you. I hope today is better! New mindset, maybe?

Malduchi March 20, 2018

My thoughts with you both...ugh...i know how sometimes we're in a default 'can't do anything about it no matter how hard you try' position but I had sometime similar. But as you said, you can only try for so long and this new job is an opportunity to see if Wal-Mart was a scapegoat or the genuine source for a lot of angst. She needs to overcome those false barriers she's setting up around herself and push through for the new experience of the job...because good or bad, she WILL grow from it...and surely for the better. Hang in there.

Deleted user March 20, 2018

Initiate dread protocols, friend. She'll straighten up when you stop pandering to her nonsense.

Deleted user March 20, 2018

Remind her that when you get thrown off a horse, you have to get back on it right away or you will be too afraid . Everyone hates the first few days of a new job. It is intensely anxiety provoking . What she is experiencing makes me think she needs to see a Dr. She could ask for a mild med for anxiety . It’s not normal to cry for five hours . She is extremely child like too. I think she will have to insist that she get help or live with an emotional invalid the remainder of your marriage .

stargazing March 20, 2018

I agree with Jinn. It sounds like she needs to see a doctor. I've thought she needed help for a long time, but after crying 5 hours...I'm certain of it. Anxiety is awful and it can be debilitating, but there are things that can help. I'm the last person to suggest medication...but she may need it until she learns how to cope.

Always Laughing March 20, 2018

I hope she can get herself calmed down

Nash March 21, 2018

There are quality drugs for this kind of thing. I can't believe that if she is in therapy her therapist has not prescribed something for her because she is obviously in need.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.