Adulting at 33. in Plain ol' Stuff

  • March 19, 2018, 12:40 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It took me 33 years to begin to ACTUALLY adult.

I still don’t completely adult. My husband doesn’t either.

My upbringing was hardly an upbringing, though - in the sense of house I wasn’t ever included in anything. I don’t know why it would be such a pain to teach my brother and I how to cook or wash dishes or vacuum. My mom did everything - including pick up after me, cleaning my room, my laundry - so I never really did it until college.

I have a germ issue, so I can’t be near dishes - until recently. I am also learning how to cook - you can’t really cook if you’re horrified of dishes.

My husband also grew up in a similar environment. Well, his parents loved him and weren’t dramatic like mine. My parents also got a divorce which became a free pass to be children again.

So I’m finally starting to adult. Starting. I actually DON’T blame anyone, even myself, as much as it sounded earlier. It never helps to find someone/something to blame - just fix it.

This is a hard issue for me and my husband. We try but apparently not enough. It’s like we are destined to suck at life lol.

I know I’m going to teach our kids better. Their room is crazy right now, and I’ve worked so much on it, but we can’t keep it under control.

OH, I also have serious issues with cleaning bathrooms. I can’t. I just can’t. I just can not. No. And my husband isn’t a fan of cleaning whatsoever. It’s hard.

But I am making good strides with being able to handle dishes and cook. I’m also decluttering very slowly. I’m doing laundry most days - I’d like to get a schedule in that involves a predetermined day to wash sheets and towels and the like, but it isn’t there yet.

This is my space, right here. I need to get stuff out. If you’re gonna be a jerk so write about it in your own entry and save it.


Deleted user March 22, 2018

You are working on all of it and that is what is important . Eat off paper plates and use disposable silverware if dishes bother you . In the bathroom you can use gloves but really there is not much of any way to keep it clean, except cleaning it. I try to do a quick clean after every use so it never gets horrible . I prefer that to scrubbing it after several days . Good luck !!!

DreamCatcherGal March 24, 2018

Sounds like both comments before mine are very helpful. I just wanted to stop in and say how proud I am to hear that you are seriously trying. Life is a constant challenge and so often seems daunting and almost impossible to surmount and conquer the challenges, but the first step is trying. Before long, you'll be finding that the effort is paying off -- even if it's only in small increments of accomplishment, but some beats none, right? Keep doing the best you can and know that one day your children will thank you for finding your way so that they will not have to feel what you're going through now when they reach the age you are. Our children need our guidance and our example of strength and courage. I applaud you and will be wishing you the best!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.