The family in Stuff

  • March 16, 2018, 2:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I vented a lot to Megan over the last week and she texted me yesterday afternoon and suggested we go out for dinner and a movie, just the two of us. We agreed to make it a girls’ night, and not to discuss anything about Mercer. It was nice to have the evening with her. She’s really a wonderful person and a wonderful friend. She’s exactly the person I need in my life right now.

We spent a chunk of the night fantasizing about the hot tub that will eventually be installed in her yard if all this snow ever melts. When she first brought it up months ago I wasn’t really sure if it was something serious, and I agreed that I’d enjoy it with her mostly because I could tell that’s what she wanted me to say. So now that it’s a real thing, I confess I’m really looking forward to it.

The kids are talking about wanting to go on a beach vacation as soon as possible, which is completely understandable given the weather here right now. I mentioned something about looking for a place for the four of us and immediately Harrison responded, “Why only four? Megan would come too, right?” It’s funny how much she really does feel like part of the family.

Next week I have a meeting with the principal at Mercer’s school to discuss her situation and being female. I’m not looking forward to it.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.