My House... in These titles mean nothing.

  • March 15, 2018, 12:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

DO YOU LIVE IN A HOUSE OR AN APARTMENT?
A farmhouse.
WOULD YOU SAY IT IS BIG OR SMALL?
It’s big but it doesn’t have a lot of usable space.
DO YOU HAVE A DISHWASHER OR DO YOU HAVE TO DO YOUR DISHES BY HAND?
I enjoy washing dishes by hand. Not sure why.
HOW MANY PLANTS DO YOU HAVE INSIDE?
I just moved around my porch plants - maybe half a dozen. They go out for the summer.
DO YOU HAVE A SPECIAL PLACE THAT YOU PUT YOUR KEYS?
No.
IS YOUR REFRIGERATOR STOCKED WITH ANYTHING?
Milk, pop, butter, cheese, lettuce, cabbage - kind of low right now.
WHERE DO YOU KEEP YOUR BREAD?
Loaf we use is in cupboard. Rest in freezer.
IS YOUR BATHROOM CLEAN?
No. I should be cleaning it instead of doing this.
WHAT IS YOUR BATHROOM’S THEME?
Unfinished remodeling.
HOW MANY RUGS DO YOU HAVE IN YOUR DWELLING SPACE?
None.
DO YOU KNOW YOUR NEIGHBORS?
Yes. For generations.
ARE THERE ANY STRAY CATS AROUND?
Barni and her handsome gentleman caller.
WHICH ROOM WOULD YOU SAY YOU SPEND THE MOST TIME IN?
Kitchen.
DO YOU HAVE A COFFEE MAKER?
A 4-cup Mr. Coffee that I like a lot.
HOW MANY TELEVISIONS DO YOU HAVE?
None.
DO YOU HAVE STAIRS?
Two sets, one up, one down.
WHAT KIND OF STUFF DO YOU HAVE ON YOUR WALLS?
Stream of consciousness stuff, anything that happens to be there.
DO YOU HAVE A DEN OR AN OFFICE?
No. Fatherinlaw’s desk is against the wall between the fridge and the upstairs door. Right now it’s full of papers that need to be organized.
DO YOU LIVE CLOSE TO ANY STORES?
I live in the country. Shopping centers vary in distance - town 5 miles, college town 20, our little city 50.
DO YOU HAVE A WALK IN CLOSET AND IF NOT WOULD YOU LIKE TO HAVE ONE?
Don’t have one, have several store rooms upstairs that I have not entered in years.
DO YOU HAVE ANYTHING HANGING FROM THE CEILING?
Ceiling fans in kitchen and my bedroom.
DOES YOUR KITCHEN HAVE A THEME?
No
IS IT A PAIN TO DUST YOUR LIVING SPACE?
I sweep more than I dust.
WHAT’S UNDER YOUR BED?
Political stuff from old campaigns.
HOW MANY TELEPHONES ARE IN YOUR HOME?
A land line and son has a cell.
DO YOU HAVE A FIREPLACE AND IF SO DO YOU USE IT OFTEN?
No, we have a wood burning furnace in the basement that is a big part of our lives from October to May.
HOW MANY COMPUTERS ARE IN YOUR DWELLING SPACE?
Son and I each have a laptop.
WHAT COMPANY DO YOU USE FOR INTERNET ACCESS AND HOW MUCH DOES IT COST?
We have satellite internet through the electric co-op. It’s 50 bucks a month and is limited. Service is good though and I’m old enough to remember lightning taking out dialup modems, so I have NOTHING to complain about.
WHAT IS DIFFERENT ABOUT YOUR HOUSE?
It’s old and kind of derelict. It has a bunch of history in it. It’s quiet and has just the right amount of seclusion.

And I - like Charis who I snagged this survey from - am so very thankful for our home.


Deleted user March 15, 2018

Lovely . I would like to see it !

Deleted user March 15, 2018

I love when you write about your home. I know there are things you wish might be different, but I just love the history and depth of it. Knowing your neighbours for generations is just amazing.

Our homes and lives are so different, aren't they! And yet, here we are. :) <3

M March 16, 2018

You said you enjoy washing dishes by hand, but you didn't answer the question!

woman in the moon M ⋅ March 16, 2018

No dishwasher. We had portable one that you hooked to the sink faucets once but the seal didn't last long and it was noisy and always in the way like a bad pet.
I don't cook a lot and when I do I don't use many dishes and I do them up quick, leave them to drain/dry and it's not a big deal. Gets my sink and hands clean.

Marg March 17, 2018

'Unfinished remodeling' - loved that😄

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.