Escape? Certainly a Lifting Just Around the Corner in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 15, 2018, 8:53 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The daffodils are trying to make an escape from the local community garden. And yesterday after a day of rain the dandelions were up in the vacant lot next door, fresh and bright.

Saint Joe had to remind me that part of the reason I might be so tired is the stupid time change. It just confuses everything and this way, losing an hour, the cats adapt much faster than I do.

So since I have had this job, going on about 8 ½ years now, I have had 5 managers that I report to. I had one I liked mostly, a woman, who was caught in an awful bind between her manager that was trying to encourage me to leave (that is putting it nicely) and me, who was fighting not only to stay but for my 3 year process upgrade to be implemented.

That manager, the one I liked but had some reservations about is still here and two weeks ago she married my current manager, Nimrod, in Hawaii. Of course we did apprehend that they were off together.

Nimrod gave his two weeks notice yesterday.

He is going to work for an outside firm where my former manager, Mr. Take No Prisoners, went to work after his contract was terminated at our place. (The guy that used to stare at my breasts.) Yuck.

Who knows whom we are going to report to now? Our guess is that they will eliminate Nimrod’s position.

As I get closer to retirement my ability to deal with authority effectively becomes a little less, well, effective. I very much hope this newest phase in my work life is not confrontational but relatively supportive.

I had a great meeting last week with the director of our Inpatient Pharmacy and was able to provide tools to make her job easier and more efficient and that improved my work mood enormously but with this news I am just tired. Bleh.

But that could be the time change right?

So I got my final crown on Tuesday! My dentist was so happy for me, they were joking about inserting a tiny scroll in the implant about the state of the world, like the message in the bottle you all found in Australia recently.

It is true that my implants will outlive me, which is sobering in a spiritual ephemeral way and a great example of the impermanence of our existence.

And it is also a reminder that after I retire, this change in managers will be a very small blip on the map of my working life.

I have some decisions to make about my yoga class at work in the next two weeks and I feel mostly decision-ed out.

A massage appointment should help don’t you think? And maybe some cheerful new spring clothes? Now that I have finally finally paid for all the dental work.

The Ides of March are always a turning point in my biorhythmic year. I feel the dark heaviness lifting and spring, (which is bursting out wildly here) coming in bringing color, warmth and comfort and maybe even a rising of energy.

As long as I don’t listen to the news…


Last updated March 15, 2018


Deleted user March 15, 2018

Oh if I were in your shoes, I'd be giddy with excitement about my upcoming retirement. I'd be counting down the months/weeks/days. :) And spring, yes! Such a boost. I think it'll be at least a month before we see any daffodils here. :(

Zipster March 15, 2018

OH yes, a massage and retail therapy are in order. And I hope some time in the sun.

Lyn March 15, 2018

Sending good thoughts for your work situation.

Yay Spring! 🌷💐🌻

Deleted user March 15, 2018

Congrats on finishing the dental work !! It’s still very cold here. No spring yet but I like when the time changes. More sun.
I hope your new manager is a good one .

Marg March 22, 2018

Great news that you are finally at the end of all that dental work - loving the joke about the scroll!😄

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.