Patches of Sun for the Cats in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 10, 2018, 11:42 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The cats are having their morning nap on the far edge of the bed in a patch of extremely welcome sunshine. It was below freezing when I got up this morning but there is no doubt that spring is moving in and taking residence and there are these little bursts of delight when one is out and about coming upon something blooming that wasn’t just a few days ago.

I was sad to find I needed to not go to the gym or for my regular walk with Mrs. Sherlock. She’s been busy and I hadn’t heard from her all week and wasn’t even sure she was going to make it. She fell on Monday at the dog park. Frida got a little too excited about something and jerked her leash hand and she lost her balance. She was okay in class but I could tell she was sore. She likes to minimize these things.

But anyway I don’t have any hot water and need to get that addressed and on top of that I have a strain on the inside of one of my knees that I need to rest. Honestly, I am exhausted too. There was overtime this week and last at work and my three classes and the saga of the unavailable replacement box of nutrition bars that I ended up having to traipse to a pick-up point a mile away twice for.

I have the bars now!

Oh and then there was the meeting with the Minister. It is interesting to note that even though he had been the associate minister of my church for as long as I have been a member there I don’t think of him as my minister.

I was very nervous about meeting with him and at some point I would really like to understand why. I think because the yoga program through the church is really important to me and I felt that it was under threat somehow.

I still feel that way actually.

We had a lovely civilized meeting and I was able to basically introduce myself to him. It turns out that we he goes to San Francisco, (he went to seminary there and is gay) he goes to Glide Memorial the Methodist Church I was a member of when I lived there. And he goes to a yoga class regularly in his neighborhood. I knew that but didn’t tell him that.

His teacher had him doing headstand recently. Not in a million years would I have him do headstand but apparently they did it in a relatively safe way. He is neither a small nor a fit man, which he acknowledged on his own. Anyway, although he practices yoga himself he only has a vague notion of what it is, though he does acknowledge that it is a spiritual practice as well as a physical one.

So I was able to share a bit of the history of modern yoga with him. He did tell me that there is a cluster of Unitarian churches in India and that they might be the result of the missionaries that I told him were involved in the early development of modern yoga in India.

He said that he thinks my “misunderstanding” about his attitude towards my classes stemmed from a comment my retired minister student made to him early when she started coming to classes He had asked her what made my classes different, or unique from all the yoga classes available out in the community and she said that they were cheaper.

I knew she had said this because my coordinator told me that and he appeared to be genuinely amazed that a comment he made in passing about 18 months ago made me feel that my classes were not welcomed at the church and that I felt compelled to move them. He apologized.

But I don’t know…

In spite of my anxiety about the whole thing (and the time off work) I am glad I met with him but it didn’t resolve anything for me.

I am going to look into those churches in India though. :)

Kes and Most Honorable are coming up today to visit and help me celebrate the fact that if all goes well at the lab next Tuesday I get my final crown and I will be done done done in dental land!

Hopefully I will have my hot water back by then too.

And I can relax and focus on taking off some of this weight I put back on this winter and get outside and play!


Last updated March 10, 2018


Deleted user March 10, 2018

Play is good for the soul !

Lyn March 10, 2018

I hate when a resolution is too slippery.

It is 51 degrees here right now so I am hopeful for Spring.

Zipster March 11, 2018

Perhaps you should offer him a free class-so he can experience your style of teaching yoga for himself and see how much you are appreciated by your students. He might become a real supporter.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.