Still No Job in New Beginnings

  • March 10, 2018, 12:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve gone on some interviews since I last wrote. Nothing’s yet materialized. I had one interview that would have went really well had I not pooch screwed everything up by being 15 minutes late. It was like a ten minute drive from my house, and I would have been appropriately early had I put the right address in my phone. In perhaps one of the most idiotic blunders I’ve ever made, I copied down the address incorrectly. By the time I identified the problem and got where I was supposed to be, I was too late to not look unprofessional.

I when I met my interviewers, I immediately apologized for my tardiness, explained what happened, and pleaded that they would not count it against my recruiter who got me the interview. They were cordial, and there was no awkwardness beyond that. I was more impressed with how I quickly I calmed down. Driving to the correct address, my adrenaline was surging and I was starting to sweat, but as soon as I walked in the office, all of that stress dissipated and I was able to put my game face on. They even gave me a test, which I performed very well on. They gave me a copy of a financial statement, and my task was to identify any unusual item that may require investigation or explanation. I even met with CFO, and we got along swimmingly. The interview lasted an hour and a half, but it sure didn’t feel that long. That was a couple of weeks ago, and that’s the last I’ve heard from them since.

That’s also the last I heard from my recruiter. I called her after the interview and apologized for my screw up. She wasn’t mad, but she did sound a little stoic. I had never been late with any of my other previous interviews. Maybe she’s deemed me a lost cause.

I’ve applied to drive for Uber. I’ve yet to hear anything, but I can allegedly make up to $600 a week if I spend 40 hours driving. I’m sure that’s an overestimate, but if I can just make $300 a week, that’ll keep me from depleting my savings any further while I continue my job search. I know a local pottery retailer is hiring inventory stockers. If Uber doesn’t work out, I’ll probably put in an application there.


Deleted user March 10, 2018

Good luck! I'm in the same boat, jobless. It sucks. I keep applying and applying. Sigh. But you will find "the one" eventually.

Marg March 10, 2018

Surely your recruiter wouldn't hold that one mistake against you? Especially as the interviewers seemed to be okay with it.

Robbo Marg ⋅ March 11, 2018

I know I wouldn't, but she seemed so emotionless when we spoke on the phone. I wonder if the best case scenario is that she's decided to focus her attention on more viable job candidates.

Marg Robbo ⋅ March 12, 2018

But who’s to say you’re not in that category? You’re trained, well qualified and experienced - it’s not your fault you’ve not managed to land a position yet!

Small Town Girl March 11, 2018

Oh no! What a total blunder! But I think that just means it wasn't the right job. Divine intervention maybe?

Robbo Small Town Girl ⋅ March 11, 2018

Maybe. In either case, it's over with. No sense in dwelling on it.

Star Maiden March 12, 2018

I almost got a job (they said I was #2 pick) and I was a good 30 minutes late to the interview. It was in Florida, my flight down as late, and then I got lost driving there in the rental. It was not a great day.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.