"COLOURS" in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • March 8, 2018, 8:33 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

You may associate white
with beauty or purity
All I see is what looks empty
like a page or a canvass
for a writer or a painter

You may think red is too bold
Some associate it with blood
So what?
What if I tell you it’s my namesake?
Besides, it reminds me of a cherry or a strawberry cake

So black is always dark,
a sign of some evil sparks?
Come on, don’t be like that!
It can be a solid outline
or a fashion statement,
perfect for every time
and even every one

What’s up with blue?
Are you sad or just true?
A royal blood, but is that really you?
Wear that all you want
You look just elegant

How about yellow?
That colour doesn’t look mellow
Why hate the Oriental glow,
when you know how far they will go?
Learn from them
You shall grow

There’s nothing wrong with pink
Okay, maybe it’s not really my thing
It’s that awesome woman who can really sing
(Pink!)
or the strawberry milkshake I’d like to drink

I don’t mind purple
It doesn’t represent trouble
Isn’t it wonderful
if we start appreciating all colours
as nothing but equal?

I also love orange
Don’t wince
It reminds me of the fruit
full of vitamin C
which makes you healthy

Let’s go green
Where have you been?
It’s a beautiful scene
the loveliest you’ve ever seen
It should be the earth we live in
so don’t be mean

What’s wrong with brown?
Nothing, so what’s with the frown?
Stop treating my complexion
like dirt on the ground
Like I’ve said, I need no whitening cream
Your racist remarks make me want to scream

Sometimes it’s okay
if you feel like wearing grey
Let bits of that in your dark hair
Why should they care?
It’s natural to age with grace

Who are we to decide
which colours that serve more rights?
Shed some light
Allow something dark
All colours are part of this life…

R.
(Jakarta, February 3, 2018 – 11:11 am)


sudare March 08, 2018

Beautiful.

author sudare ⋅ March 11, 2018

Thank you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.