The Sun Has Been Out All Day!!! Yeah. in Everyday Ramblings

  • March 6, 2018, 4:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So after church on Sunday I stopped to talk to a woman sitting next to us that was interested in my yoga class (I hope she comes) and then went down to our main social hall to check in and go to the restroom. It was packed, so I decided to go to the building next door, which is also ours. There was no one there and as I was leaving the building I almost ran smack dab into the minister I have been having the challenging feelings about!

I stopped him and introduced myself and asked if it was okay if I called to make an appointment with him to talk about the Adult Ed program and Yoga. He was very nice in a quiet sort of way and bonus points I did call yesterday. I am going to see him Thursday afternoon.

What was kind of crazy was that the theme this month in church is Evil and Mrs. Sherlock and I were talking about this after our walk on Saturday we were like, really, Evil? But she was going to service Sunday and I am trying to spend as much time as I can with her as she goes through this difficult time and we were both astonished at how much we liked the sermon by our senior minister.

When I was listening to it I was thinking…oh, that is why I am a Unitarian. Right! I felt a closer connection to the church than I have in a really long time. We believe in the inherent worth and dignity of all and that doesn’t mean we judge others, we just believe in their inherent worth and dignity. There is no real room for evil in there.

Last night Mrs. Sherlock drove me home from class and we talked about that a bit more.

When I was preparing for my class, thinking I could find something in the yogic texts on how to address or a perspective on evil I Googled the two together, yoga and evil and oh my, the first like 3 pages that came back were all about how evil yoga is from the Catholic perspective.

If you are vulnerable at all, apparently that is an opening for both the demons and the scourge of Hinduism to get in.

This opinion is not based on a full understanding of what yoga actually is, but wow, they hold it very strongly. Lutherans apparently hold the same opinion as do a number of Christian Evangelical sects.

I have been blown away lately by how people can hold such strong opinions about things that are basically not true. I mean, we are all people, our needs are the same, and we have so very much in common and yet we focus on what divides us…reasonable or true or not.

My imperfect produce box came last night after class. I put a picture of my loot up on Facebook. With my $10 off introductory coupon I paid less than $13 for it all. I am very happy with it. I was baking sweet potatoes at 5AM this morning. I am so busy I have to sneak this processing in around the edges of my day.

And the US cauliflower growers will be happy to know that as I had all this other cool produce I was able to pay full price for and carry home a cauliflower at lunch time today. Win/Win.

My weight is still up a bit but that is because of well, you know, the Trump Ten. Listening to the news, it wears on one.

Even one already full of demons, as I must be.

Hanging out with the awkward minister can’t hurt.
Eek.


Last updated March 06, 2018


Zipster March 06, 2018

What saddens me is that their minds are CLOSED to hearing the truth about yoga; it's like hearing about it is evil and not to be trusted.
Your imperfect produce box sounds perfect to me.

Lyn March 07, 2018

In this world nothing is certain but death, taxes, and ignorance - or something like that. 😉

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.