Catching Up in Thirty-Three

  • March 4, 2018, 11:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good evening! Gosh you guys, why didn’t anyone tell me I haven’t written in a ridiculously long time? lol anywho, what’s going on around here lately?

Last entry, Randy was getting settled into Rehab. He was only there for 3.5 days really. He got there on Tuesday afternoon and left Saturday afternoon. They tried getting him to go home on Friday, but they had done his performance review (to see if he was in fact ready to go home) that day so they don’t discharge on the same day as that.

Saturday morning he had PT at 10 and was supposed to have OT at 11, but his nurse came in when I got there and said he could go at 11 if he wanted to. So I went and found him and we skidaddled!

Went by his store to talk to the manager and give him an update. Got some free food which was great. I think we went to get his prescriptions and then we came home. Sunday MIL came over to do her laundry and we made dinner. We made some chicken parm with noodles and asparagus. That took so much out of him. He was exhausted on Monday but had a dr. appointment with his primary.

His blood pressure was amazing so they were happy about that. Just wanted to see him back in 3 months and wanted his discharge stuff from the other hospital (they are connected to the hospital where he was initially seen in the ER, but not where he was transferred to and spent a week at).

I don’t quite remember what else we did that day, but I don’t believe it was a lot. Tuesday he had his eval for his outpatient stuff, so we stopped by his primary doc and dropped off the stuff and headed over there.

I think we went and watched Jumanji with Jacquie that day. Movie was pretty hilarious. Came home and did nothing. The rest of that week is a blur. We spent Valentine’s day at home. Made some lobster ravioli and Adam brought a ham and potato casserole. I was irritated because Randy had asked him to pick up another package of the lobster ravioli but he “couldn’t find it” aka he didn’t look. We were having that because Wednesday was the start of Lent and it’s a no-meat kind of day for us catholics.

Whatever, it happened and we can’t go back.

My dad came into town on Thursday I believe. Spent the weekend pretty much buying groceries lol. My dad dropped a good $400 on all of that for us.

I think he was only here until Monday or Tuesday and then he went home to head off the storm we were going to be getting. Gosh I can’t even remember. bluh. It did storm a few days this last week and it has been super cold.

Friday I had planned on Driving but my head was killing me for about 4 days so I didn’t do that. Saturday we got up early and went to get some veggies. Spent a good amount of time out and about and then came home. Left about 5:30 to get the car washed and vacuumed and then I dropped him off at his game and I went driving.

I was super busy that night. I got 13 rides in a little over 4 hours, made like $82. That was awesome. Had to have someone bring him into town because I kept getting rides back to back lol. Anyway, had a late snack at IHOP and then came home. Sunday we didn’t do much. MIL came over again and we had dinner. Made tacos, fideos and I had made a bunch of salsa. Randy made a fire too which was nice.

This week, we didn’t have anything on Monday but we went into town and did a couple different things. Today he had PT at 11 I think and then we went and got some food real quick and headed up to the guy’s house where he plays his D&D games on Saturday. He was having a board game day. I wasn’t sure if I was going to stay because I’m not big on board games and I can’t usually comprehend the rules quickly.

It was a lot of fun though. They were really good about explaining things clearly and going slow with me. We played a few different games. Zombicide, Potion Explosion and Five Tribes or something like that and all were a lot of fun. John (D&D house guy) lent us one called Santorini the other day so we have that one to play too.

We kind of did a short game of it on Sunday, but I’m sure we’ll play it a little more.

Uhmmm yeah, I left John’s house about 5:30 to come home and check on the dogs but Adam had already been home for a bit. I’m just waiting for Randy to message me to meet him where John is taking him. John is going to give Randy some cash instead of donating to the GFM because he doesn’t want any of it to go towards fees on GFM. So that is really good.

Also, guess what? Randy went back to work last wednesday! They have been trying to get him back to work since the previous week, but had to iron out some minor details here and there. So he had a 2 hour shift on Wednesday and then starting this week he will have a regular schedule that is based around his therapy schedule. So that is super exciting you guys!!

It’ll be another 2 weeks before he gets a paycheck, but there is hope on the horizon. He’s going to be starting off super slow. Not doing any deliveries or running any shifts. He’s going to just be making sandwiches and that’s it. I have a dr. appointment tomorrow morning with the Endo to see what is going on there.

We will be starting our baby journey again this month too. I’ve already started taking prenatal vitamins so that is a good thing. I finally got my OTC card and found the ones that it covers, so that worked out. Uhmmmm yeah.

We barely made it to Friday, which was my payday but we did make it. Thursday we had the tickets to the U of A Basketball game which were from JJ’s so that was a good day. The game was amazing. Friday he had Therapy at noon so did that and they stretched him pretty good and worked his shoulders. We also taped is shoulder and stuff. I have the same taping pattern on my hip as he does on his shoulder lol.

Yesterday he worked 10-2 and I drove for those few hours he worked. Then I had planned on Driving the night when he played D&D but they ended up not playing. So I went and got some juice at this shop that was having their grand opening and then we went to the swap meet which was good. Only got halfway through before we were both just kind of done with it lol.

Came home and made some food and then went to bed. Today we are going to the Street Fair (maybe) and so that should be fun times.

As I stated before, there’s some other things that need to be talked about just because they happened. Right now that’s all I have to say! I will try to get back to writing regularly again, hopefully. No promises though.

If you are still interested or are able to donate, click the link here. We’ve got a few beginning of the month bills that we need to take care of, and since he won’t be getting a paycheck for another 2 weeks, it’s going to continue to be tight. We’ve been doing extremely well with only having $20-$40 to spend on Food and gas, but it has been a struggle. My dad bought us a bunch of groceries as I stated, and he bought the dogs some food as well.

Randy’s Road To Recovery


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.