Mountains in Uncategorized Thoughts

  • March 1, 2018, 5:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The beginning of this year has been…difficult, and frustrating, and so much more. It’s not that I’ve been totally unfocused, because I haven’t been, but there has been a lot going on and I’ve accomplished, being generous, about 0.1% of what I wanted to. (Okay, more realistically it’s possibly as high as 20%)

Some of it is on life, but a lot of it is on me. It’s a rare day indeed that I’m more frustrated with other people than myself, after all - my high standards are for me alone.

But this weekend I’m getting to throw myself at (not off) a mountain, finally. I need time in those woods, on those slopes; it’s where my soul feels at home.

More than that, I need a concrete challenge, a known difficult thing that I can stare at and then overcome. Something that I can look back on unambiguously as a win. Not as “okay, but I should have done more” or “geez, that’s all you did”, but a set task, that I overcome.

So fingers crossed this oft-delayed trip doesn’t get delayed again


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.