One of *Those* Old Ladies in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 23, 2018, 7:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This was yesterday as the thaw was beginning. You may note that while the longer branches of the tree have snow on them, the outer branches are blooming. We still have snow on the ground as it is just now moving above freezing for the day but it is mostly possible to get out an about comfortably. At least for a few hours as it seems like there is a mix of rain and snow on the way this evening.

I spent a big chunk of yesterday working on my tax organizer and I so want to get it into the mail today so I can cross this major thing off my list. It means walking about 9 blocks. Oh the things we take for granted!

Right this minute it looks like I’ll be able to walk with Mrs. Sherlock in the morning too. I do hope so and I know so does she.

The results came back from her husband’s PET scan and the cancer has not spread. That makes this all just a tad bit easier. Also they are going to be able to get treatment locally so not as much driving each day as they feared. All this is good news in the midst of so much difficulty.

I haven’t been back to the gym in a couple of weeks but I am going tomorrow. My back was sore yesterday but feels good today. Much to my amazement I was able to get a referral from my doctor in 24 hours to the local physical therapy place that is staffed exclusively by yoga teachers. I’ll make that appointment on Monday.

I am actually kind of excited to meet with and get guidance from folks that are as much anatomy geeks as me but have more experience working with chronic back pain.

And tomorrow afternoon, fingers crossed, my unruly hair is going to get sheared and highlighted. It will be a madhouse in the salon but I can deal for an hour and a half or so after all this waiting.

Reaching out this morning to the Yoga Service Council, this wonderful group of folks who bring yoga to underserved populations I asked if they knew anyone working with a pain management protocol for individuals living with sickle cell disease.

This is a project that I am interested in working on when I retire. I looked at the local advocacy organizations but none of them seemed too robust so I was happy when the vice president said she’d check with the other board members to see if anybody knows anyone working in this area. The other people I have talked to about this suggest I might want to reach out to the local churches. The fact that I teach through mine might help give me some credibility.

Do you know anyone with sickle cell disease? My understanding is that it is extremely painful and that while children are getting some sort of consistent care there is no cure and it is hard for adults to have a program that supports them in all their various challenges. That is the sort of program I would like to tap into.

Yeah, yeah, I know I have a memoir and a poetry book to write when I retire as well as a bunch of projects around my place but this one really comes from my heart.

I was thinking yesterday as I was taking a vacation day and getting things done that I am going to excel at retirement. At least the being active and intellectually stimulated and engaged part of retirement.

I am a little worried about the financial aspects of it as there are certain well known folks in our country in the political realm that would basically just like me to die when I retire so that benefits that I have earned since I was 16 don’t accrue to me and I am not a burden that diminishes their ability to make a profit.

Just in case you have any doubt, I am not going to accept that without one heck of a ruckus.

That will be me, calmly leading my students through a class, writing and staying informed, hiking and connecting and out there making a major in your face ruckus.


Deleted user February 23, 2018

I can’t wait to read about your retirement adventures !

edna million February 23, 2018

We must have switched weather- it was 70 here today! All the students were wearing shorts. Things are getting buds and I saw crocuses and daffodils yesterday, but I know it can’t last and just hope everything doesn’t get killed. I love your retirement plans.

Lyn February 23, 2018

I support your ruckus. May the force be with you.

Marg February 24, 2018

More power to your elbow when the time comes!😊

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.