"NOTHING BUT A CULTURE OF SILENCE IN THE TWILIGHT ZONE" (Re-drafted) in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • Feb. 23, 2018, 3:45 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been transported back in time
something familiar
yet also bizarre
the same old Twilight Zone
with the same old Culture of Silence

Oh, what a pain
Here we go again
The same old policy still reigns
opening mouths, typing fingers
loud voices, empty messages

Nothing, nothing, nothing…

Am I still one of them?
I have no say, because they don’t give a damn
My voice is always cut off with reprimands
“Just follow The Culture of Silence”
That’s always been their best defense

“Sssh…it’s only in your mind,”
they always say.
“Everything’s fine.”
Or: “What’s your problem?
Why won’t you just shut up and listen?”

Nothing, nothing, nothing…

This Culture of Silence
builds nothing but walls
of blissful ignorance
You may try to climb
and up you crawl
but you just don’t get the chance
because some of them use the digits of their age
or the colour of their skin
or the God they choose to believe in
just to make you feel small

Let’s try not to take it personal
In their eyes, you’re nothing but trouble
so abnormal
They just want to act like nothing happens
What are you trying to dampen?

Nothing, nothing, NOTHING!!!

Nothing,
because there’s no point in trying
They’re so caught up in make-believe
that silence will get the problems to leave
a picture-perfect Twilight Zone
where The Great Pretenders may never be dethroned

I’ve always been that element
treated more like a poison
or a red rose’s thorn
With them, I can never win
I suppose I no longer fit in

Why am I still here?
Will they be happier if I disappear?
They might complain one day
that we don’t talk anymore
but I remember the last time we did
and I wonder: “What for?”

Nothing…

R.
(Recited at Unmasked Poetry – Imlekan, February 17, 2018 at Galeri Indonesia Kaya, Grand Indonesia, Central Jakarta. The event started at 3:00 and finished at 5:00 pm)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.