2/22 in --

  • Feb. 22, 2018, 12:04 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

My 23andme results came back. I always thought my sister and I were most likely fraternal twins, but we’re actually identical twins! That’s so neat! Our kids are cousins and genetically half-siblings. Mind-blowing!

I also found out some interesting things too, like I’m predisposed to weigh more than average (but I’ve always been petite), and I have a variant for having lots of freckles (but I actually have none). Weird how things can be expressed so differently. I love genetics, it’s so fascinating.

I also saw that I’m not a carrier for cystic fibrosis; I wasn’t sure if I was or not. When Lorelei was a baby she had markers for it when her newborn screening came back, so I had to get her tested for it. It turns out she doesn’t have it, but she could be a carrier. Since I’m not a carrier, her dad very well may be. She’ll need to get genetic testing with her partner if she decides to have children someday. I told her dad that he should probably get genetic testing with his partner too if they decide to have kids.

I uploaded my data into Promethease too and saw that I have a higher predisposition to autism, ADHD, and suicidal ideation with depression. I already knew this stuff though, but it’s interesting to see it laid out like that. I also have a higher chance of getting both types of diabetes. It’s a good thing that I’ve made more of an effort to control my sugar intake recently, and I really had no idea.

I’m glad I was able to do this! I am now addicted and want to get a kit for my husband.


Small Town Girl February 22, 2018

Interesting results! It amazes me how they can tell some of those things! Im a bit skeptical. How can genetics tell if you have suicidal tendencies?

martian princess Small Town Girl ⋅ February 22, 2018

I think it's from genetics studies that look at variants of genes, and people who have depression who display certain symptoms. I'm just guessing though, since I'm not a genetics researcher. I bet if you google SNP it'll give you more info. :) Here's a short explanation: https://ghr.nlm.nih.gov/primer/genomicresearch/snp

Small Town Girl martian princess ⋅ February 22, 2018

Interesting. My mom wants to have hers done. Is it expensive? Maybe I could get her a kit for her birthday.

martian princess Small Town Girl ⋅ February 22, 2018

It kind of is. For ancestry only it's $100 and for the ancestry + health it's $200 but I got my kit on sale. I'd just wait for another sale.

Small Town Girl martian princess ⋅ February 22, 2018

$100 a month to use the ancestry website right?

martian princess Small Town Girl ⋅ February 23, 2018

Nope it's a one time fee for 23andme but I don't know how much the ancestry website is, I've never used it :) it's a different company

Small Town Girl martian princess ⋅ February 23, 2018

Oooooh ok. I thought they were linked together.

Deleted user February 22, 2018

I need to register my kit and send it in!

martian princess Deleted user ⋅ February 22, 2018

yes you do!

❤️vee February 22, 2018

Promethease is the best $5 I've ever spent!

martian princess ❤️vee ⋅ February 22, 2018

I paid $10 but still worth it! They must have raised the price.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.