Not weird in Stuff

  • Feb. 21, 2018, 4:55 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was just talking to a client and jokingly mentioning that he appreciates the way I can be an asshole at times and that he’ll miss it when we’re no longer working together on this case. He responded, “Yeah, I’m really going to miss your asshole.”

There was a moment when that statement just hung out there, and then we both laughed so hard I had to excuse myself. It was a moment of unprofessionalism perhaps, but I needed a good laugh.

I feel like I go weeks when I have something I want to write about here every single day and then weeks when I open this site and have nothing to say. If nothing interesting is going on in my life, I usually at least have something to say about the kids. But right now everything just feels status quo. It’s the never-ending winter, like every year in Boston.

Megan asked me if I thought it would be weird if she invited Mercer to go on runs with her. I said no. I said I couldn’t even think of a reason why it might be weird. She just shrugged and said she feels like she needs to ask parental permission before doing something with one of my kids. Which I really appreciate. But that doesn’t make anything weird. Maybe that was just the wrong word to use.

So they have been running together. Megan is the type that will go out for a “quick easy” 10 mile run like it’s nothing, and Mercer isn’t quite at her level but is still a very strong runner so he appreciates the challenge of keeping up with her.


Perpetually Plump February 21, 2018

Good god. I wish an easy run for me was even a mile. Much less ten!
I always ask my boyfriend's permission before I take his kid anywhere. He leaves the house on Saturday mornings with me there, knowing I'm going to take her wherever I go, but I still ask. And I take her to practice every Sunday, so it's not like he doesn't trust me with her. I think it's just a respect thing, really.

Perpetually Plump February 21, 2018

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.