Snow Day - This Too Shall Pass in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 21, 2018, 12:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t think this photo needs any explanation. Sigh. I took it yesterday when I was still able to get out safely.

We had more snow overnight and while it is warming up a bit it is still below freezing and thawing hasn’t started. We are all working from home. Well doing as much as we can without mail and credit card machines and… Nimrod is vacation and honestly it is unclear right now who we report to.

My dental appointment was canceled so everything has been moved back two weeks. I am so very grateful I didn’t have more surgery scheduled. My hair is a mess as I canceled the rescheduled appointment yesterday.

Now my three big challenges are…do I cancel my studio class tonight, how do I get to the grocery store sometime soon and how do I get my activity for the day stuck inside with no stairs?

I had already decided that I was going to burn a vacation day tomorrow so I can get some of my tax prep done. I can take a bus into downtown and walk up to the easier to access grocery with my poles and grippers tomorrow during the day.

There were a number of folks that didn’t come to class on Monday (though I still had a full class) and I know some were planning on coming tonight but I don’t want anyone taking a chance of falling.

While writing the above, looking out the window I decided to go ahead and cancel class. I sent my students a link to a short video class from my teacher that is a bit too much of a challenge for most of them but I doubt they will do it anyway. :)

So that means I can relax and finish out my work day, do some videos of my own and chill this evening.

Last night, probably the coldest night of the winter, we had a flex time from the power company so I kept it very low key, read a murder mystery and listened to podcasts all wrapped up in a blanket with a pair of heater cats.

It is painful to think of the choices those folks living in tents were making last night.

Diego knows what sort of choice he would like to make right now. It involves wet food and my lap…

I do have wild bird food, cat food and litter, one banana left and packets of sugar free hot chocolate so I am good for the duration.

Mrs. Sherlock’s husband is supposed to have his PET scan today. I hope they are able to make that happen, as she so just wants to get the treatment plan operational. It is the waiting and not knowing and confusion that is so difficult for them to handle right now as I know a few of you have first hand experience with this. Oh yeah and the irritable anxious cantankerous husband too.

Hope your day is straightforward and your choices are easy and you are holding an awareness (as I am trying to) that this too shall pass.


Last updated February 21, 2018


Marg February 21, 2018

I always think of the homeless on freezing cold nights and thank my lucky stars that I'm able to be all cosy in a warm house!

edna million February 21, 2018

A big SIGH on your behalf! I'm glad you ended up cancelling - that's one of the things I hate most about bad weather in winter, the trying to decide to stay or go or cancel or try to make it etc etc etc. I hope Mrs. Sherlock's husband was able to have his scan. Having that looming makes all the other stuff seem trivial.

Lyn February 21, 2018

Mother Nature seems bipolar, perfect image to express that.

Deleted user February 21, 2018

Snow ... it looks so pretty and feels bad :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.