job woes in --

  • Feb. 21, 2018, 6:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don’t know how I’m ever going to get a job.

I applied to a job that I’d be a great fit for. I have experience doing almost everything listed under the job description. I have an MA (after I graduate this spring) and the minimum is a BA, with preference given to MA. I have every single skill listed that they want.
I applied this morning, so excited, because I knew I could get an interview and the pay is pretty good.

My application was disqualified automatically from their system.
Why? Because I have one year of experience, not two or more.
I called them to see if they could forward my application anyway, because I have everything they want in a candidate otherwise. The answer was no.

I’ve had a lump in my throat all day. I just want to cry. I feel like a huge failure. I feel punished because I had children. I was a full time student during the time I had them. I’m clearly ambitious. I’m clearly really smart. I managed to do all of this without support or help. And yet, I can’t even get ONE interview.

I just don’t know. I wish I wasn’t such a fucking failure. I go above and beyond with the work that I do. I’m an EXCELLENT employee. I contribute more than just what I’m told. I can learn new things and do really great work. I guess none of it matters.


history of love February 21, 2018

I don't know but I can empathise; that sucks. I remember getting disqualified for a job because at the time I had a degree but was in my hons year and that is what they based their decision on. Sometimes it's arbitrary, it really is.
I highly recommend this blog though, it might help? askamanger.org

Deleted user February 21, 2018

That's something that's always bothered me about job hunting, the part where all too many openings posted say "must have X total years experience in this position for us to consider you". Leaves me wondering how people are able to GET those required years of experience when they are so seldom given the chance to do so. Total catch-22.
I know most people look down on this idea, but have you considered signing on with an employment agency along the lines of Manpower or whatever might be in your area? While they primarily deal with manual labor jobs most of the time, they do from time to time have contracts with professional businesses seeking people with college degrees in specific fields as well, and will usually be willing to bend the requirements for job candidates if their strengths make up for something as minor as falling short in required experience. Just a thought to consider, if you haven't already :)
In any case, I wish you good luck in your job hunt.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.