MARVELOUS BOOKS in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 21, 2018, 10:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I took the laptop to work yesterday and, after a nasty struggle to access the wireless, began going through the just donated boxes of books. All those boxes, now only 12, are from one family. Many are on ships and shipping. Most are flat out exciting to this booklady.

Imagine a book on dry docks worth eleven thousand dollars. There’s the beautiful builders volume from Fincantieri about the construction of the Queen Elizabeth 2. It’s’ beyond my dreams at three hundred some bucks. I brought home a book by Lecturer Bruce Peter on the history of the Cruise ship. Boy did I read that one carefully.

By three yesterday afternoon, I packed up my dog and pony show. I’d started the laundry before I left; I came home expecting to finish the laundry. Nope, dear G had done it all….folded, hung, and taken up two stories. I am forever grateful.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: His queue is light today at work.
  • Herself: Booklady today and tomorrow. Maybe I will make a dent in all those boxes. Lauhter at my own foibles is my best attribute these days.
  • Reading: “Cruise Ships,” by Bruce Peter.
  • Captain Poolie: Her niece went north to get her things and has returned to Poolies house.
  • Gratitude’s: I found a food yesterday on the NO list. LOL

Deleted user February 21, 2018

They donated an eleven thousand dollar book ? Wow! I need to check my library before I give my hundreds away .

Hillbilly Princess February 21, 2018

elaine2 February 21, 2018

Where do you get the valuations for your books, please,?

MageB elaine2 ⋅ February 21, 2018

Hi elaine2...I use ABE books, or Alibris most often. Amazon if there is no other way to find the books. There's always Biblio.com too. :)

elaine2 MageB ⋅ February 21, 2018

Thank you. I use abe as well. I have never used biblio but shall look at it now.

MageB elaine2 ⋅ February 22, 2018

Alibris is excellent too. :)

NorthernSeeker February 21, 2018

Wow...I've never held an $11 000 book. I'm sure my fingers would be shaking.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 22, 2018

It was a really boring looking book too.

Marg February 24, 2018

Wow at that price - I also wonder if the owner had any idea of its worth? How do you decide what price to sell them for? Is there a particular strategy?

MageB Marg ⋅ February 24, 2018

I send them to the company person who put's them on eBay. :)

Marg MageB ⋅ February 24, 2018

Oh right - I thought it was an actual shop in real life! So the place you go in to work in is just somewhere to store the books - have I got that right?

MageB Marg ⋅ February 24, 2018

No. I work for the American Cancer Society's Discovery Shop here in Point Loma. Yes, I am storing the many cookbooks in my garage. Yes too, I actually go to work in the store two days a week, and I maintain the Point Loma facebook page every day. The Nautical books are so unique that after I price them they are being sent to LA.

Marg MageB ⋅ February 25, 2018

Ah ok - thanks for explaining!

Deleted user March 10, 2018

Nautical books ; Those had to have belonged to a seaman :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.