Teacher strike,birthday, funeral anniversary, birthday cake in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • Feb. 19, 2018, 7:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The teachers in Mercer county are planning to strike on Thursday and Friday. They are unsatisfied because raise in insurance and not a raise in pay. They havent had a raise in 10 years so they are planning to protest outside the schools and in Charleston. As a guard i am unsure whether i will guard at the picket line or whether i will have an unpaid 4 day weekend. I am not sure if students will have classes or not. Everything is unsure at this point.

I am down to 188 pounds from 200 pounds with the low carb diet. Talan has lost 20 pounds. We look up recipes online and do meal preps. Either Talan or i prepare our lunches and try not to impulsively shop for food due to limited incomes. Talan cheated on his diet by buying us pizza last night. We have a few cheat nights a week. I have discovered meal prep is a lot cheaper than buying junk food all week.

Talan woke me up today because i overslept my alarms. By the time i took a shower dressed got my meal prep meal from the fridge and drove 33 minutes to work i was 7 minutes late. Addison said he knew i speed on way to work…ssh my secret is safe with you..right?

My birthday is during the weekend. I am going to be 31. I hope this birthday is better than my 30th birthday. For my 30th birthday i buried my friend Cassie who died of an aneurysm of the brain sadly she was pregnant when she passed and left a husband and 3 kids behind.

I kept my cake for days begging anyone to eat it with me. I threaten to throw it in the trash me and talan ate cake the cats ate the icing. I spend money on pizza alcohol and entertainment to end up crying in my boon’s farm wishing Cassie was there to celebrate my birthday. Talan held me as a cried over cake. A birthday i will never forget.

What should i do for my 31st birthday? I want to go to the womans expo the day before. The day of my birthday i am clueless.

Should i make a low carb cake to honor my birthday or do i say screw it and eat what i want? I hope i dont cry over Cassie’s funeral date anniversary.

What would you do if it was your birthday?


FitLadyDi February 19, 2018

Low carb cheesecake! And sadness on birthdays is so so hard...

Malduchi February 20, 2018

The birthday I just had last year was probably the worse I ever had, so I made up for it on my Saint's day (in some countries in Europe, if you share the same name as a Saint then usually people give you flowers or a card and/or presents, kind of like a mine-birthday).
You should:
Eat whatever you want! You're only born once and a birthday is about the person who was born, above and beyond anything else.
Plan a few of your favourite things to do/go to and also people to spend it with see if they're free. A birthday just needs company of those who appreciate your friendship so besties usually.

You only live once and a birthday is about LIFE. Focus on the happy and your blessings and cherish the memories you have. And if you want to honour the memory of Cassie then live it how you think she'd want you to. She's still there in your heart and mind :)

Beret February 20, 2018

It's hard to have low carb cake with all the sugar and flour. Even regular cheesecake has a lot of sugar in it. Maybe splurge on your birthday by buying a piece of cake? Grocery stores often sell pieces of cake or a small cheesecake.

You should do something that makes you happy on your birthday. What would I do on my birthday?

First off, my birthday is in May so the weather is better and there are usually lots of things going on in May. I really like being outdoors. But you could still do outdoor things on your birthday this month if it's not raining or snowing.

How about a walk in on a trail in a nature preserve or park? Is there some type of botanical garden or similar? Walking outside is good for many reasons. Mental and physical.

How about a art museum or something like that? There is always something interesting to look at and think about no matter how small the museum, etc. It's all good. Plus, you can do that indoors if the weather is not cooperating.

How about a movie? Is there one you would like to see that is in the theater now?

I know you are sad over the loss of your friend. But ask yourself if she would want you to cry and be sad. Or would she have wanted you to remember her and celebrate her life. The fact that you can do that on your birthday makes it special.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.