BLOGROLLS in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 19, 2018, 10:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Janey at Disneyland in 1983.

My mouse got to browsing an old blogging friend’s bookmark list this morning. Perhaps I was missing my old friends after Jim’s death. Most were not blogging anymore. Sometimes a family member made a note that their father, mother, or sister had died. Other times they had just vanished. Their last entry would be dated many years in the past.

John, one of the first of the elder bloggers I knew just faded away. One day he told us he had nothing to say. In his last entry, I’m still here, he told us. So is Graham, he added. Nothing more. He helped me so much, and I wish I knew what happened.

Yes, so many of my friends out here in real life have died. Janey died of breast cancer, so did Jo. I know what happened to them. Ronnie, with the most intensive blogroll, has been busy with her own cancer has let her blogroll go. I’m reminding you to check yours. I’m reminding me to check mine. Perhaps most of my links are still good.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Working on this holiday.
  • Herself: Have a lunch meeting at the store. Feeling better every day. It’s 50 degrees out there with rough wind gusts. I didn’t go to the pool.
  • Gratitude’s: So grateful for feeling better.

Hillbilly Princess February 19, 2018

I get so use to just reading the people that have updates on my screen then last night it hit me I haven't seen so and so in a very long time. Nothing from them since September. Starting to ask around about them. Hoping to hear something.

MageB Hillbilly Princess ⋅ February 19, 2018

Yes, I do try to keep up in case anyone uses my blog roll. I don't discard the missing tho. I just move them to a new spot.

Deleted user February 19, 2018

I noticed several are missing too . I miss them :-(

elaine2 February 19, 2018

JOhn Bailey, theoldgreypoet? If so, did he not have a severe problem with his ulcerated leg? When I looked him up a year after he disappeared, I could find nothing, but I did find that Graham had moved. I assume that John passed away. He certainly was not well.

MageB elaine2 ⋅ February 19, 2018

Hi elaine2...yes, that John. I dearly loved that man. Yes, he did, and how ever did you find out about Graham? Not well, but she an interesting blogger. I have found John Grey at "Going Gently>" to be of good value too.

elaine2 MageB ⋅ February 19, 2018

I read him at his site, oldgreypoet.com. I remembered Graham's last name and that they were in Wales so found him that way. I missed his posts a great deal. I had followed him from the time he started moving house, back when Graham would fix them up and they would sell them. He had a couple of cats back then, and they all seemed so cozy.

Marg February 20, 2018

I got all hot under the collar when I didn't have people realise I'd stopped writing in September (save for a few) but I realised when you're living a normal life it's all too easy to not 'see' when someone has perhaps disappeared for a while. I'd like to add a bit to my will with my log in details to here so that someone can write an entry if anything happens to me.

NorthernSeeker February 20, 2018

I bet that some of the people you reconnect with will be able to tell you what has happened to some of the others. We had major winds in Victoria last weekend...the kind that make a shrill sound.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ February 20, 2018

Over on blogger , several have connected.
Yup, loving the wind and cold niights here.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.