Comfortably Numb in General

  • Feb. 18, 2018, 10:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have so much to write about. But I feel like I have some kind of writers block going on. So if I just keep typing maybe something will break loose.

Friday I was running through my newsfeed on FB. FB has this feature of “People You Might Know.”

She looked familiar. And within seconds I recognized her. name. Audrey’s given name. I made the mistake of clicking.

She is no longer with her husband. Now lives in my town, Has a new boyfriend.

I would be lying if I said that didn’t sting.

In the grand scheme of things, it makes sense. Not many people can hold on forever. I am in that unfortunate group that can.

I didn’t think I was going to be able to sleep, but I slept fine.

By the morning I was completely at peace. Well, at least as at peace as you can be with that little barb stuck in your heart.

Friday night I went out for Chinese with the boys. Saturday I went to Applebee’s because I didn’t want to cook my own steak. I think me and Applebee’s are splitsville.

This morning, after clearing snow I made my way to the Railway Cafe in ‘Salem’s Lot.

Still trying to get on the flight schedule. I am wasting money every day I am not flying. The weather has settled down a bit and should be decent for most of the week.

I am in the “pretend it is already true” mode. It has always worked for me. Every phase of my life.

I spent the afternoon cooking. Tomorrow is chest day at the gym.

And away we go.

When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown
The dream is gone
I have become comfortably numb


Deleted user February 18, 2018

That is shocking :-(

🌻StillJustMe🌸 February 19, 2018

Love some Pink Floyd!

Have a good day!

TruNorth February 20, 2018

Harsh as it sounds, you just have to move on.

Duke TruNorth ⋅ February 20, 2018

I know. Easier said than done.

Pintador February 21, 2018

I can’t help but be a little pissed at Audrey - isn’t that crazy? You handled it amazingly well.

Deleted user June 01, 2018

This was played at my brother's funeral by one of his friends.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.