A SPECIAL JIM in Postcards 4

  • Feb. 18, 2018, 12:29 p.m.
  • |
  • Public


Left to Right: 2008, George, Dr. Jim, and Jim O’D.

I almost hung up the phone. There was a tentative voice asking for Mage or George…they only do that when they are selling things. After a pause, I said yes, I was Mage. She was Jim O’Donnel’s niece, she told me. He had died the first part of this month. He had died of a heart attack in the same hospital and in the same ICU as Poolie. We hadn’t known.

He was a very private man. Probably he would object to my posting his picture here. He was a much appreciated friend. We had dinner several times a year after he retired. We had lunches. Christmas parades and Christmas’s here. We saw him not often but regularly for a great many years.

Initially we met him through our friend Duck. After Duck’s death, he stayed with us…part time, but with us. We will be going to his ceremony at the first of next Month.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: He’s doing well. Dragged me out into a new milieu in Hillcrest to see “The Darkest Hour.” We had a lot of fun out in the world window shopping, and watching people too. The valet parking guy who backed cars down a busy street into oncoming traffic really made us laugh. Popcorn at the movies too. The giddiness of it all.

  • Me, myself, and I: Health: Improved all day until I was almost normal last night, and I feel like myself again this morning.

  • Reading: Just started “His Right Hand” by Harrison.

  • Gratitude’s: That G and I have been blessed with friends like these.


Deleted user February 18, 2018

So sorry ... you have been blessed with a lot of special friends.

ODSago February 18, 2018

Jim is right, you have been blessed with special friends, and I am sorry to know another has passed away. Much love....

GypsyWynd February 18, 2018

So sorry for the loss of your friend.
Glad you are feeling better.

NorthernSeeker February 18, 2018

It was nice of the niece to call you. It must be quite a chore for her to get in touch with people to deliver such sad news.

Marg February 19, 2018

So sorry about Jim - losing good friends is always hard.

Hillbilly Princess February 19, 2018

So sorry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.