A Little Cold, A Little Dark in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 16, 2018, 9:57 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We’re back! I did try finding my diary on OD but received no response from support other than the automated one acknowledging my request.

Having Prosebox down all week has been sort of symptomatic of my whole week so I am taking the return as a sign that things are looking up.

They are certainly not looking up for a lot of people in Florida near a particular school. You all in the rest of the world must think we are nut cases that we would let these sorts of shootings happen.

I took the above photo Tuesday morning. You get a good view of the chunks of concrete dropped by heavy equipment under many of our bridges to keep people from camping there. It was just at freezing when I took this shot on my way to the dentist. New tents are appearing near where they cleared the old ones out, many with some effort to be a little more discreet.

We are accommodating, dealing with what we are dealing with at work but it is not getting better and in spite of all my spiritual training and mindfulness I am not handling it in a particularly healthy way.

I am eating too much, partially because I can chew normally, (I am still waiting for my last crown but have no restrictions on what I can eat) and so um, popcorn, and bags of sweet potato chips… my new best friend. Eek.

And my hair guy canceled my appointment 10 minutes before I was due (I was literally right outside the salon when I got the text) so my hair feels all raggedy and dark even though to everyone else it probably looks fine, just a little unruly. He had injured his arm and was in a lot of pain but if he does anything like that again he is not my hair guy anymore. I think he is struggling a bit with the demands of life right now just as so many of us are bombarded by this endless seeming bad news.

He is such a good-hearted caring guy.

I did get a couple of folks returning to my classes this week after an absence and one of my coworkers, someone I don’t know very well, told me on Wednesday that my class on Fridays is the high point of his work week! He said that in public as he was regretting he would be out of town with his family today because he would miss class. That was so sweet and honestly quite rewarding on a soul level. Unlike some of the other employees in our office he doesn’t lie just as a matter of course.

And we have a three-day weekend on the way. I am going down to see Kes and Most Honorable and their cats tomorrow and am looking forward to that. And Monday (if we don’t have ice) I am walking with Mrs. Sherlock. Her husband had his PET scan Wednesday and they are working on a treatment plan now.

My goal was to get my taxes prepped by Valentine’s Day and I didn’t make that but I did get the engagement letter out.

I am not doing great at getting things finished or a sense of accomplishment. Maybe I need to shift my focus? I read somewhere that instead of having a To Do list; we need a Things Done list.

Just as a reminder.

And also to focus on the beautiful wild Spotted Towhee that was munching on millet on my patio a few minutes ago as a reminder of how grateful I am for all that I have today and that I don’t need to pitch my tent (if I had one) under a bridge on a freezing morning on a piece of land where I am clearly not wanted..And that I am a person that can do something about the fact that others are pitching tents under bridges in urban areas all over our country full of crazy gun loving mean spirited folks who don’t see themselves as that at all.


Last updated February 16, 2018


edna million February 16, 2018

I love the idea of a Things Done list. I always have massive To Do lists that nothing ever seems to get done on, so I always feel like a total failure. When I really did do stuff! Lots of stuff!!! Just nothing on my list.

I think they've got a backlog of people trying to find their diaries now - hopefully they'll get to you soon! I've really liked being back there, but no more than I like being here. I think it's really seeing SO many people from the past there, who never did make the jump to PB.

The latest shooting .. I think everyone is just so numb at this point. Nothing changes, it just gets worse. I did hear kids from that school are really raising their voices about the need for gun control, so who knows- maybe they will actually be listened to.

Lyn February 16, 2018

Great last sentence. 👏

Deleted user February 16, 2018

Whoops; my things done list would be definitely lacking this week !
Missed you all !

Marg February 20, 2018

Great to have Prosebox back I agree! Would they not be able to just shift the rocks or are they far too heavy for that?

noko Marg ⋅ February 20, 2018

The rocks are chunks of concrete and they are designed to be heavy enough not to be moved. They could move them with a truck if they had one but not by hand.

Marg noko ⋅ February 20, 2018

Ah right.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.