Real is as real does... in Public

  • Feb. 3, 2014, 6:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It's strange, I'm now friends with a lot of you on FB, and despite the fact that FB has your real name, usually some pictures of you and the family you've sometimes talked about here...it doesn't feel as real.

Because it isn't as real.

FB is pretty much about self-censorship and presenting a sanitized and/or glorified version of your life...unless you're one of those FB drama people...and we all have a few of those around. People only post pictures of new cars, adorable kids, dream vacations, gorgeously decorated homes. You don't see a whole lot of piles of dirty laundry, figurative or real.

We apparently all send our laundry out...or some of us bring it here.

But I just couldn't help but notice the irony of "real" connections between mostly anonymous people feels vs. the "not real" connections between "real people".


Timmy™ February 03, 2014

No secret I don't post anything important on the book of faces.

Katie Kizzle February 03, 2014

I have a decent amount of people on my fb that use it as if it is a diary...in a bad way. But you're right, you really don't know people as much as you do when you can read their diary. It's what makes these relationships that much more special.

Estrella February 03, 2014

I found that I would see something on FB and run to OD to find out the whole story. A lot of times I felt like I should have just been on OD in the first place.

AppleGirl Estrella ⋅ February 19, 2014

Bwahaha! I just did that today -- wrote an entry here about the REAL story behind our cruise vacation...and just posted pretty pics to FB. :D :D

JamieMomma February 03, 2014

hahaha I post laundry pictures :) I have to censor because my blasted psycho aunt is on my page and anything I say she has to comment on and then report back to my mother, she is mostly blocked though, I post a lot of my cat, because right now he pisses me off the least lol

Linda February 03, 2014

Interesting observation.

RoseS February 03, 2014

Yeah, I have clients, relatives and such on fb. I post a lot of dog pics...

Pinkerton February 04, 2014

I deactivated my FB account about a year ago for this very same reason. The way people presented themselves online was so different from the way I knew them to be in the real world.

My wife still has her account, however, and keeps me up to date on whose getting married, having a baby, etc.

Jane Says February 04, 2014

I feel like a dirty-laundry kind of gal, but I try to keep my realism generally positive. I get what you mean, though.

MJ's Page February 10, 2014

You're right. I should post a picture of my dirty laundry pile on FB.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.