Additions to Previous in Book Five: Working Through the Maze 2018

  • Feb. 9, 2018, 12:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

This would have been a simple edit inclusion on a recent entry but I opted for a different path.

This evening ended with the perfect reasons to (1) get out and (2) expect surprise and difficulty tomorrow morning.

As is bloody fucking common here, my bosses did not look at the Work Calendar that they have specifically asked me to use so that they know what is going on with me. Which is funny because they still expect me to keep their work calendars up to date.

  • White Boss reminded me that “If (I’m) going to be handling his calendar, (I) need to do better. Alerts need to be 1 day before the event, not 1 hour before the event.”
  • Literally as I was walking out the door to a hearing, Chinese Boss stops me and tells me that I have to deal with an urgent matter for a Chinese Client. No bitch, I don’t. I get that you think, and have clearly stated before, that Private Chinese Clients come before Appointed Non-Chinese Clients but let me explain a “Legal Practice Point” to you: NOTHING comes before appearances in front of a judge. You hear me. NOTHING. So, your little 21 year old Chinese Client throwing a hissy fit because his OWI got his license suspended… is going to have to wait. I need to appear before a judge to explain why a woman who has been clean and sober for 9 months deserves to have her kid back.
  • The minute I got back? Chinese Boss down my throat because I needed to help 4 Chinese Kids. I needed to get a Guilty Plea filed for one Chinese OWI, I needed to explain to her why the Prosecutor called our client to say the NCO was lifted, I needed to provide her with proof that the NCO was lifted, and I needed to find out why and how the DOT was revoking a license for a OWI where the BAC was .099.
  • IMMEDIATELY after Chinese Boss gave me that laundry list of things to do for Private Chinese Clients, White Boss is right behind her. The other day, he asked me to do something for a civil case that I’d never done before. Actually, his exact words were “Can you draft this for me? I know you’ve never done it so it’ll look like shit but at least it gives me a place to start from.” Those were, really and truly, his actual words. So…he is asking me to do something he knows I’ve never done, tells me he expects me to do a shitty job, and then doesn’t teach me how to do it. Rrrriiiiiiiiiiight. But I did the work, and produced a version that (and this isn’t bragging) was good enough to file in court. But what did White Boss want to talk to me about after his Wife gave me a laundry list of shit to do? That project. He even said it was “okay.” But he also said I needed to fix it. Because it sounded like a lawyer had written it. Uhm. Gofuckyourself? I am a lawyer, this is a legal document, this is something that we file in court.... gofuckyourself? He wants me to re-write it “for a moron” because he isn’t sure that (and these are his exact words) “the other lawyer would even know what a Defendant or Plaintiff is.” So… these kids trained in Mississippi Law… come to Iowa… and expect Iowa Lawyers to know nothing. That is kind of the picture I’m getting here.
  • EVEN AFTER ALL OF THAT… I had a meeting at DHS. Because, as I said before, they don’t look at shit if it applies to my schedule.
  • When I returned? E-Mail One: White Boss: Make sure you get those revisions done by the morning. E-Mail Two: White Boss: You know that thing you said you were gonna file, make sure you file it. (NOTE: I had filed it two hours before his e-mail. He should have/would have gotten notification of it if he was checking his Online Legal Filing Docket). E-Mail Three: Chinese Boss: (her actual words) I want that DOT thing settled by 10 am tomorrow morning.

Thanks, friends. Really. You’re showing that you rely on me. So it is going to piss you off, upset you, and come as a complete shock when I quit tomorrow. Thanks, friends. Really. You’re showing me that you don’t care about my case load, my growth as an attorney, or my training as an attorney… and, to you, I am simply an extension of an appliance, a tool if you will, that you can ask to do any and all work you don’t know how to do, don’t wish to do, or accepted without thinking about.


Deleted user February 09, 2018

Just do not let them guilt you . Tell them Good Riddance !

Nash February 09, 2018

Get em. I cannot wait to see you reborn.

Always Laughing February 11, 2018

so many reasons to leave so many

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.