After the game in Charting new territory

  • Feb. 3, 2014, 6:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Gosh, I am so tired today. I have no excuse to offer. My major accomplishment so far consists of sweeping the kitchen floor and sticking a turkey roast in the oven. It's 4:30 PM here and that's it for a whole day! I used to get that much done as I was passing through a room on my way to do real chores.

One of the glories of being old is the occasional recitation of all I used to get done in a hot second. Of course, I lie. I pretty up the claims as I go along. Sometimes I am so amused by my big fat lies that I make myself laugh, adding, I'm sure to the strange looks my audience exchanges when I get on a roll. Oh, dear. The old broad is getting close to going to a home....those kinds of looks. Maybe they are right. So far I know the difference between telling a tall tale and reality but I might as well be entertaining while I'm watching wrinkles form. I'm not likely to get much else done.

Bud is having a pre-dinner nap. We are the most exciting people you will ever know. During and after dinner he will watch wrestling. I loathe and despise every second of that nonsense so I will probably escape into a book. He knows that stuff is choreographed and pure BS but it was part of his childhood and I think he takes a visit home while he watches it. He is willing to watch Downton Abby with me. How can I complain about grown men tossing each other about like rag dolls? lol. It's all insane, you know, this little trip through life. No point in getting all fuzzed up at every opportunity. One of many lessons learned the hard way. Seems that is the only way I ever learned anything. My salvation: eventually I do learn.


Deleted user February 03, 2014

I find that a nap is more important than most things on my list. When I was young (like 18 when I knew everything, lol), I never understood my mom napping each afternoon. How in the world could a grown up just fall asleep in the middle of the day?

I get it now. I can fall asleep while talking. My naps are a priority. Everything else will get done sooner or later...maybe.

FishTacoLover February 04, 2014

There is nothing much better than a delicious afternoon nap. I guess I am old, too, but I don't mind it a bit.

MageB February 04, 2014

The hard way indeed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.