pull on over in 2018

  • Feb. 8, 2018, 7:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

5:02pm

I don’t want to start this by talking about the same ol’ people but that’s about the only thing I’ve got going on right now. I mean there’s work too. What can I say about that? I come in a couple minutes before 9am, I sit, and run papers, and file, and answer phones, and talk to clients, and then I go home and look for food and go to bed. That’s fun, right?

Some times it’s not so bad. I like when funny people come by. The kind of people you can joke around with. It makes the day a little brighter.

Yesterday TF’s sister came to the office. She was our last client of the day so we sat around with them for a long time talking. Even after they got up to leave they turned around and continued to talk for a while longer. They definitely got married, back in October, and they didn’t invite us so mom made a big ol’ dramatic entrance. And we all know I’m the queen of the guilt trip so I hit it hard with my comments. I have the perfect combination of sarcasm and wit [and smartass attitude] to make me awesome at dishing out the guilt trip.

Near the end of our meeting she asked if either of us was on fb. I said that I was but we laughed because it’s so hard to find me. I gave her the name I’m listed under [I go by my full name in the office] and wished her luck. She asked if I had the city listed and I said no. Then she asked if I just didn’t use it and I said I did but it was just really private. I told her it would probably be easier for me to find her on there and got the name she’s listed under. I also mentioned she might be able to find me since I’m sure we have people in common. It’s a small town. But I don’t even remember if we do have people in common.

I figured it would be ok to add her. I don’t really like adding people but I know it’ll be hard for her to find me and she specifically asked and seemed to want to share pictures/whatever through there. Mom was the one that brought up that if I added her the guys would probably be able to see me on there. Hmmm? I guess it doesn’t matter much right? Who cares if they decide to add me. I’m certainly not going to add them but it’s not that big of a deal if they want to be friends. I do like them. They’re cool. Despite everything that happened between TF and I, I do still like all of them and would love to hang out.

We were talking about TF earlier today. Mentioning how he’s usually here by now and how every year we tell him to come asap but he always fails to follow our instructions. As we were talking about him the phone started ringing and I gasp and then burst into laughter because she totally thought he was calling, but it wasn’t him. We had a good laugh about it after I hung up.

Then, about an hour later, the phone rang again and no kidding - it was him! So weird how that happened!

He immediately started talking about how he heard we met his uglier brother and I knew right away that Lucas is a giant gossip! After some back and forth on how I couldn’t confirm or deny my meeting him and who was better looking he goes, “You think he didn’t leave there and immediately call me to tell me everything that happened?” and I said, “I figured he would.” and asked what else he said. He didn’t want to tell me too much. But I definitely think his brother broke down the entire thing for him. TF even mentioned something about my last name and not being white enough. He had the details a little off so I told him it was that he said I didn’t match my last name and I asked if it was because I wasn’t white enough. I mentioned how I’d said I probably needed to have blonde hair. I told TF that I used to be blonde and he seemed very surprised so I mentioned it was when I was a kid. He said something about how he didn’t think I was the type of person to dye my hair anyway. What does that even mean? Then he told me that he liked “platinum” [of course you do…] and something about impressing him. I went into a sarcastic rant about how I would just love to impress him and make sure I do everything he likes.

Honestly, I was probably a little bit rude on the phone. Especially later when he was giving me a breakdown of his day and at the end mentioned he spent the rest of the day staring at his phone. I asked if he saw anything good and he said he was only daydreaming and wondering why Mrs. Right hasn’t found him yet. I told him that I could give him a list of all the reasons why. hah. Oops. =\ He said he wanted to hear it and then that he didn’t think I was in the appropriate place to sit back and give him that list. I agreed. He was saying that if I had time after I got home from work I should call him and we could go over it. I said that I would work on the list and I would surprise him with it the same way he said he wasn’t going to tell me when he was coming in because he wanted me to be on top of it all the time and always prepared.

After I said that though he did this half laugh thing that I could tell wasn’t real and he said, “alright…I’ll talk to you later. Bye” Clearly he loves to poke you but can’t stand being poked in return. I mean I know I was snarky and kinda rude but come on! He’s always like that with me. I just don’t take it the way I used to. I don’t keep my mouth shut anymore to try to impress him and stay on his good side. What for? I tried that already and it didn’t work out. I just ended up hurt.

Although, I still got off the phone and realized how bad my hands were shaking. My voice was ok this time around but I spoke slowly and kept calm. I found it interesting the way he wanted me to call him after I got home. The same way he told me not to be a stranger the other day and to text him. But I’m not chasing him this time around. Not even to be his friend. I shouldn’t have to try so hard. He knows where to find me.

Not that I didn’t kinda purposely keep him on the phone longer. I Can’t Help Myself! -_- We were talking about making him an appointment and/or just having him drop stuff off. He asked what time I was getting out today [7-ish] and mentioned he was on his way home from [southern town]. Then goes, “not that you care about my day” or something. It wasn’t in a sad you don’t care about me kinda way just like he realized he was oversharing details. I don’t know. It was strange. He was different on the phone today. Not as crazy/jokey.

I told him I wanted to know, but then other things were said and he started to end the conversation. I told him I thought he was going to tell me about his day and he asked if I really wanted to know so I said yes. Then he went on to give me a play-by-play. From waking up, showering, making breakfast, getting his kid to school, going to an early meeting, which he bragged about being the most popular/funny/awesome guy in the room, then he ended up with the whole daydreaming staring at the phone thing.

It’s been a few hours since I started this and he did not show up today, which is how I thought it would go. He did say he didn’t think he would make it. So maybe tomorrow? Or Friday? I don’t know. I was so super tempted to call him. I wanted to joke about giving him the list, make sure he wasn’t coming so we could leave, and remind him to bring some new paperwork. I talked myself out of it though. Also used mom to remind me not to be an idiot when I got her opinion on whether or not I should call. Sometimes I just need to hear from someone else I’m being a moron, in no uncertain terms..


Last updated February 08, 2018


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.