Weekend Update in The Road Ahead

  • Feb. 4, 2018, 4:34 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, here I am again. I’m still sorting through photos and job hunting every day. It’s been an unusually quiet period for me, which has been frustrating. Normally finding a job isn’t a problem, but damn if it isn’t one now. I’m attacking from as many angles as I can think of, including jobs I can do online and/or remotely, and I just haven’t heard much of anything from anybody.

It makes me feel useless! And a little depressed. Getting my 401k check was great, but I don’t want to eat through all of that. I’d like to be able to have savings and a retirement fund and all that fun jazz. My expenses are minimal and I don’t eat much, but life costs money, so it’s still dwindling. So I’m hustling on getting another hustle going, especially because the gf and I have a trip along the West Coast we want to do ASAP. Here’s hoping that I strike gold soon!

Let’s see, what else? I’ve done some rearranging and reorganization in the van. There’s a tricky balance to fitting things so that it works for me, and also works when my gf comes and stays the night with me. It’s funny because even though I got rid of damn near everything I owned, I’m still looking at stuff and thinking I’d be better off without it. I’ve got my tv and xbox, Magic cards and other board/card games, Frisbee golf discs, my laptop, a handful of books, a cooler for my foodstuffs, a dresser to keep all my tools in, and my cooking gear. I feel like I have too many clothes, and that’s after whittling it down to a week’s worth of outfits.

I’ve got three pairs of jeans, four pairs of skinny pants, eight t-shirts, two hoodies, two zip-up hoodies, and enough underwear and socks to keep me stank-free. I’ve never been one for fashion, preferring comfort over name brands, so all my clothes are well-worn and broken in, but they still take up space, which is valuable when you live in a van! The cat onesie is definitely staying, as is my robe. Why are people so weird about wearing robes in public? I’ve walked the doggos quite a few times in my robe and even I felt weird about it. It was warmer than a jacket, certainly softer too, but I felt like a maniac. Anyone else a robe fan?

I’ve been making some new friends on Xbox Live too, it’s really nice to be able to interact with people and not having someone breathing down my neck about it. I was commiserating last night with one of my new friends about jealous exes and how playing online with others was always a point of contention. It’s pretty bitching to have such an awesome and supportive girlfriend now. It’s the sort of thing you don’t realize is important until it comes under fire, and then it’s like ,DAMN, I put up with that?

I’m trying to make some new friends through vegan and various groups on Facebook and OkCupid too. I like it when my newsfeed reflects my values as reflected in the company I keep, so all the vegan stuff is great. Well, great is pretty relative. I see a lot of animal abuse and other graphic content that can be very sobering and heartbreaking, but it serves a purpose and is an unfortunate and ugly truth that I tend on continuing to share and expose to those I know and care about. The number of cute, interesting, and heartwarming stories are also high up there, videos of animals playing in sanctuaries, otters snacking, and unlikely animal couples all keep a smile on my face and in my heart.

OkCupid has been a veritable ghost town for me lately, which sucks. They’ve changed their messaging system, so now there’s not even a guarantee that your message will be received. And once you send a message, those people stop showing up in your matches, so it’s just a big fucking mystery whether you’ll connect with anyone at all. Granted, that’s from the male side, and my side specifically. My poor gf is still getting absolutely garbage messages from trash people, but that’s pretty reflective of online dating for females. shrugs I even recently opened up my profile to showing me as being interested in the dudes, and not even a nibble. I suppose getting incredibly lucky once and meeting my current gf, I should be glad to have met anyone at all? I’m not sure. I’m open to more friends, more lovers, more whatevers. I’ve got a lot of love and passion to share, but I need senpai to notice me first. Q.Q lol

I’ve got more jumping around in my brain, but I’m going to let those percolate for a bit yet and post a few more pictures for y’all. Happy Superb Owl/Puppy Bowl Day!

alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text
alt text


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.